Matthew Shardlake Mysteries by CJ Sansom
Matthew Shardlake is the featured character in a series of historical mystery novels by British novelist C.J. Sansom. Shardlake is a hunchbacked lawyer who works on commission from Thomas Cromwell (who he is a long-time supporter of), and then others later on.

C.J. Sansom began his Matthew Shardlake series in 2003 with the novel Dissolution. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of C.J. Sansom’s Matthew Shardlake books in order of when they were first released (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Matthew Shardlake Books

If You Like Matthew Shardlake Books, You’ll Love…

Matthew Shardlake Synopses: Matthew Shardlake returns for the sophomore novel in C.J. Sansom’s historical mystery series, Dark Fire. The 16th century hunchbacked lawyer. He must defend a young woman who has been accused of murder, but things don’t look good. She refers to speak and, under English law, she will be crushed to death if she doesn’t offer any sort of verbal plea. Thomas Cromwell offers Shardlake a brief stay of execution if he’ll take on a secret mission and, desperate for her life, Shardlake agrees. He orders Shardlake to find Greek Fire, a rumoured weapon that is highly sought after. Shardlake plans on speaking to the alchemists (the only ones who know the formula), but before he can, they are murdered, and now the formula and the weapon are missing. Shardlake gets help from Jake Barak and Guy Malton to try and crack this mystery. Dark Fire was awarded the 2005 Ellis Peters Historical Dagger Award.

In the third novel of C.J. Sansom’s Matthew Shardlake series, Sovereign, King Henry VIII is on his way through York in order to quell a rebellion. Matthew Shardlake has been named legal counsel for the Progress and is on a secret mission from Archbishiop Cranmer to make sure the imprisoned conspirator Sir Edward Broderick returns home alive.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Matthew Shardlake Books

Leave a Reply