Inspector Ian Rutledge is a fictional character in a series of mystery novels by Charles Todd. The series is set in England starting in 1919. Rutledge is trying to move on with his career following World War I, but he must battle a haunting secret. The books more or less occur back-to-back with eachother.

The Inspector Ian Rutledge series began in 1996 with A Test of Wills. Below is a list of Charles Todd’s Inspector Rutledge books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Charles Todd releases a new book at

Publication Order of Inspector Ian Rutledge Books

A Test of Wills(1994)Description / Buy at
Wings of Fire(1998)Description / Buy at
Search the Dark(1999)Description / Buy at
Legacy of the Dead(2000)Description / Buy at
Watchers of Time(2001)Description / Buy at
A Fearsome Doubt(2002)Description / Buy at
A Cold Treachery(2005)Description / Buy at
A Long Shadow(2006)Description / Buy at
A False Mirror(2007)Description / Buy at
A Pale Horse(2007)Description / Buy at
A Matter of Justice(2008)Description / Buy at
The Red Door(2009)Description / Buy at
The Kidnapping(2010)Description / Buy at
A Lonely Death(2011)Description / Buy at
The Confession(2011)Description / Buy at
Proof of Guilt(2013)Description / Buy at
Cold Comfort(2013)Description / Buy at
Hunting Shadows(2014)Description / Buy at
A Fine Summer's Day(2015)Description / Buy at
No Shred of Evidence(2016)Description / Buy at
Racing the Devil(2017)Description / Buy at
The Piper(2017)Description / Buy at
The Gatekeeper(2018)Description / Buy at
The Black Ascot(2019)Description / Buy at
A Divided Loyalty(2020)Description / Buy at
A Fatal Lie(2021)Description / Buy at
A Game of Fear(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Inspector Ian Rutledge Books, You’ll Love…

Inspector Ian Rutledge Synopses: A Fearsome Doubt by Charles Todd is book 6 in the Inspector Rutledge series. In 1912, Ian Rutledge played a pivotal role in gathering the evidence that led to the conviction of Ben Shaw, ultimately resulting in his execution. Now, seven years later, Ben Shaw’s widow approaches Rutledge with what she firmly believes to be proof of her late husband’s innocence. Ben Shaw’s history is a complex web of unsettling secrets, some of which may hold the key to his guilt or innocence. The situation becomes even more convoluted when an apparently unrelated murder draws Rutledge back to Kent.

In this familiar setting, a chance encounter brings back haunting memories of Rutledge’s wartime experiences, including the persistent voice of Hamish MacLeod, a soldier Rutledge was forced to execute. As two separate murder cases unfold simultaneously, Rutledge finds himself racing against time to capture elusive killers who are just as determined to elude him. In the process, he is compelled to challenge his fundamental beliefs about morality, justice, and the nature of murder itself.

A Cold Treachery is book 7 of the Inspector Ian Rutledge series by Charles Todd. Summoned amidst the fury of a relentless blizzard, Inspector Ian Rutledge confronts a scene of brutal violence that ranks among the most savage he has ever encountered. While such unspeakable carnage might have been expected on the battlefields of World War I, where he endured the loss of his sanity and a significant part of his soul, the same level of violence is shocking when it unfolds in the tranquil kitchen of a remote Urskdale farm. The Elcott family has been mercilessly murdered, and the absence of any signs of struggle or resistance only deepens the mystery.

As the grim tally of victims is taken, the local police are confronted with another shocking revelation: one of the Elcott children is missing. Now, Rutledge finds himself in a race against time as he battles the elements and his own haunted past to rescue the young boy before he is silenced either by the unforgiving snow or by the chilling hands of the enigmatic killer who remains hidden amidst the blinding white landscape.

In A Pale Horse by Charles Todd (book 10 of the series), within the haunting remains of Fountains Abbey in Yorkshire, a grim discovery awaits: a lifeless body concealed beneath a cloak, its face veiled by a gas mask. Beside the deceased lies an alchemical tome, belonging to a schoolmaster who had refused to take part in the Great War due to his conscientious objection. As Inspector Ian Rutledge delves into the identity of this mysterious man, he realizes that the investigation might be influenced by a thirst for vengeance, complicating the quest for truth.

Simultaneously, the British War Office launches its own search for a missing individual, a man whose wartime activities were so confidential that even Rutledge is left in the dark regarding his true name and deeds.

Rutledge’s journey takes him to Berkshire, where cottages once intended for lepers now stand beneath the imposing shadow of a monumental white horse carved into the chalk hillside. The current occupants of these cottages are also individuals shunned by society, concealing their own enigmatic histories. As the detective navigates a web of truths and lies, he must discern who among them is genuine and who is weaving deceptive tales.

Amidst this complex puzzle, Rutledge’s courage and expertise are put to the test. Layers of deceit and a relentless murderer demanding freedom at any cost make this investigation a formidable challenge. And as a pale horse looms overhead, it serves as a stark reminder that death’s grip on those who endured the horrors of the French trenches is never truly released.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inspector Ian Rutledge Books

2 Responses to “Order of Inspector Ian Rutledge Books”

  1. Linda: 2 years ago

    We felt this comment needs to be updated as it is now 2022. We just finished A Divided Loyalty. We have been reading them in order and enjoying them immensely! There are (only two Rutledge) as yet. Can’t wait to start the Crawford series. Keep them coming Charles Todd! We love them!


  2. Kit Kimes: 7 years ago

    Just found this site while trying to fine the correct order of Charles Todd’s books with Inspector Ian Rutledge, Thanks, I’ve read his latest one “Racing The Devil” which just came out. It isn’t in you list yet, but it is a very enjoyable read.


Leave a Reply