Kris Longknife is the protagonist in a series of military science fiction novels by American author Mike Shepherd. Born into wealth and royalty, Kris Longknife joined the marines to help fight for humanity against aliens and pirates in a system that has been colonized.

Mike Shepherd debuted his Kris Longknife series in 2004 with the novel Mutineer. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Mike Shepherd’s Kris Longknife books in order of when they were first published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Mike Shepherd releases a new book at

Publication Order of Kris Longknife Books

Mutineer(2004)Description / Buy at
Deserter(2004)Description / Buy at
Defiant(2005)Description / Buy at
Resolute(2006)Description / Buy at
Audacious(2007)Description / Buy at
Intrepid(2008)Description / Buy at
Undaunted(2009)Description / Buy at
Redoubtable(2010)Description / Buy at
Training Daze(2011)Description / Buy at
Daring(2011)Description / Buy at
Welcome Home / Go Away(2012)Description / Buy at
Furious(2012)Description / Buy at
Kris Longknife's Bloodhound(2013)Description / Buy at
Defender(2013)Description / Buy at
Kris Longknife's Assassin(2014)Description / Buy at
Tenacious(2014)Description / Buy at
Unrelenting(2015)Description / Buy at
Bold(2016)Description / Buy at
Ruth Longknife's First Christmas(2016)Description / Buy at
Kris Longknife's Replacement(2017)Description / Buy at
Among the Kicking Birds(2017)Description / Buy at
Kris Longknife's Bad Day(2017)Description / Buy at
Kris Longknife Emissary(2017)Description / Buy at
Kris Longknife's Maid Goes on Strike(2017)Description / Buy at
Kris Longknife's Relief(2017)Description / Buy at
Emissary(2017)Description / Buy at
Admiral(2017)Description / Buy at
Kris Longknife's Successor(2018)Description / Buy at
Commanding(2018)Description / Buy at
Indomitable(2019)Description / Buy at
Stalwart(2019)Description / Buy at
Boot Recruit(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Kris Longknife Books, You’ll Love…

Kris Longknife Synopsis: Mutineer is the first book in the Kris Longknife series by Mike Shepherd. Kris Longknife was born with the silver spoon. Her father is the Prime Minister of her home planet, her mother the consummate politician’s wife. She’s been raised only to be beautiful and to marry well. But the heritage of the military Longknifes courses through Kris’s blood – and, against her parents’ objections, she enlists in the navy. She has a lot to live up to and a lot to prove in the long-running struggle between her powerful family, a highly defensive – and offensive – Earth, and the hundreds of warring colonies. And then an ill-conceived attack brings the war close to home, putting Kris’s life on the line. Now she has only one choice: certain death on the front lines of rim space – or mutiny…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Kris Longknife Books

Leave a Reply