Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
Little Women is a series of coming-of-age/children’s novels by American author Louisa May Alcott. The series follows the four March sisters – Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy – starting from childhood and growing up into adulthood during the 19th century in New England. Alcott partially based the books on her own life, growing her up with her own sisters. The books helped create the original image of the “All-American girl.”

Louisa May Alcott began her Little Women series in 1868 with the novel Little Women. It was followed up quickly the following year with Good Wives. These two books are often considered two volumes of the same book and often are sold as one. The final book in the series was Jo’s Boys and How They Turned Out, which was published in 1886. Below is a list of Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Little Women Books

Little Women, or Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy(1868)Description / Buy at
Good Wives(1869)Description / Buy at
Little Men: Life at Plumfield with Jo's Boys(1871)Description / Buy at
Jo's Boys and How They Turned Out(1886)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Little Women Collections

Note: Good Wives was also published as Part Second of Little Women.

If You Like Little Women Books, You’ll Love…

Little Women Synopsis: Little Women by Louisa May Alcott is about the March sisters, who are trying to help their mother out while their father is fighting in the Civil War.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Little Women Books

Leave a Reply