Lizzie Martin by Ann Granger
Lizzie Martin is the protagonist in a series of historical mystery novels by British novelist Ann Granger. In 1864 London, Lizzie Martin is the companion to a wealthy widow/slum landlord and has met back up with an old friend from childhood named Inspector Ben Ross in order to assist him solving mysteries.

Ann Granger began her Lizzie Martin series in 2006 with the novel entitled A Rare Interest in Corpses (aka The Companion). The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Ann Granger’s Lizzie Martin books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Ann Granger releases a new book at

Publication Order of Lizzie Martin/Inspector Ben Ross Books

A Rare Interest in Corpses / The Companion(2006)Description / Buy at
A Mortal Curiosity(2007)Description / Buy at
A Better Quality of Murder(2010)Description / Buy at
A Particular Eye for Villainy(2012)Description / Buy at
The Testimony of the Hanged Man(2014)Description / Buy at
The Dead Woman of Deptford(2016)Description / Buy at
The Murderer's Apprentice(2019)Description / Buy at
A Rare Interest In Corpses(2020)Description / Buy at
The Truth-Seeker's Wife(2021)Description / Buy at
The Old Rogue of Limehouse(2023)Description / Buy at

Note: A Rare Interest in Corpses is better known under the title of The Companion.

If You Like Lizzie Martin Books, You’ll Love…

Lizzie Martin/Inspector Ben Ross Synopsis: In A Rare Interest in Corpses by Ann Granger, Lizzie is the companion of a rich widow and slum landlord. She finds out his previous companion has gone missing. Thought to have run off with some man, it turns out her body is found around the rubble near the new St. Pancras station. In order to find out what became of the lady, she enlists the help of a childhood friend, Inspector Ben Ross.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Lizzie Martin Books

Leave a Reply