Mitchell and Markby Village Mysteries by Ann Granger
The Mitchell & Markby Village Mysteries is a series of crime fiction novels by British author Ann Granger. Set in the Cotswold villages of England, the series follows Chief Inspector Markby and girlfriend Meredith Mitchell, as they partner up to solve mysteries. The series is also known as the Meredith and Markby series.

Ann Granger began her Mitchell and Markby series in 1991 with the novel Say It with Poison. The series lasted 15 novels and concluded with the novel That Way Murder Lies, which was published in 2004. Below is a list of Ann Granger’s Mitchell and Markby books in order of when they were originally released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Ann Granger releases a new book at

Publication Order of Mitchell and Markby Books

Say It with Poison(1991)Description / Buy at
A Season for Murder(1991)Description / Buy at
Cold in the Earth(1992)Description / Buy at
Murder Among Us(1992)Description / Buy at
Where Old Bones Lie(1993)Description / Buy at
A Fine Place for Death(1994)Description / Buy at
Flowers for His Funeral(1994)Description / Buy at
Candle for a Corpse(1995)Description / Buy at
A Touch of Mortality(1996)Description / Buy at
A Word After Dying(1996)Description / Buy at
Call the Dead Again(1998)Description / Buy at
Beneath These Stones(1999)Description / Buy at
Shades of Murder(2000)Description / Buy at
A Restless Evil(2002)Description / Buy at
That Way Murder Lies(2004)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mitchell & Markby Books, You’ll Love…

Mitchell and Markby Village Mysteries Synopsis: In Say It with Poison by Ann Granger (book 1 of the series), Meredith Mitchell didn’t expect an easy ride when she agreed to stay with her actress of a cousin on the days before Eve’s wedding. But what she didn’t expect wa smurder, blackmail and unrequited love. She also didn’t expect involvement from Chief Inspector Markby, a divorced man with a volitile past. As a material witness to the lone murder of Westerfield in the Cotswolds, Meredith ends up acting like mother-confessor to her cousin, who doesn’t appear to be telling the entire truth about her involvement with the victim. Meredith must balance being a good cousin and helping out the police, which is difficult even for her.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Mitchell & Markby Books

Leave a Reply