Chief Inspector Barnaby by Caroline Graham
Detective Chief Inspector Tom Barnaby is the central character in a series of mystery/detective fiction novels by English author Caroline Graham. He is based out of Causton, a fictional town in southeast England and mostly deals with murders that occur in the English countryside. He is a methodical, yet perceptive detective. The series has been adapted into the television drama Midsomer Murders, where the character is portrayed by John Nettles.

Caroline Graham debuted her DCI Barnaby character in the novel The Killings at Badger’s Drift, which was originally published in 1987. The series has lasted seven novels thus far with the most recent novel being published in 2004. Below is a list of Caroline Graham’s Inspector Barnaby books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Caroline Graham releases a new book at

Publication Order of Chief Inspector Barnaby Books

The Killings at Badger's Drift(1987)Description / Buy at
Death of a Hollow Man(1989)Description / Buy at
Death in Disguise(1992)Description / Buy at
Written in Blood(1995)Description / Buy at
Faithful Unto Death(1996)Description / Buy at
A Place of Safety(1999)Description / Buy at
A Ghost in the Machine(2004)Description / Buy at

If You Like Inspector Barnaby Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Inspector Barnaby Books

Leave a Reply