Ann Granger
Ann Granger is a British novelist of crime fiction. She writes the Mitchell & Markby, Fran Varady, Lizzie Martin and Campbell & Carter series. Ann earned her Modern Languages degree from the University of London and went on to teach English in France for a year. Next, she worked at British consulates and embassies in various countries in Europe. After getting married, she ended up living in Zambia and Germany before coming back home to raise her family in England.

Ann Granger began her career writing historical romance novels under the pen name of Ann Hulme, beginning with the 1979 novel A Poor Relation. She began her crime fiction career in 1991 with the novel Say It with Poison, now writing as Ann Granger. Below is a list of Ann Granger’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Ann Granger releases a new book at

Publication Order of Mitchell and Markby Books

Say It with Poison (1991)Description / Buy at
A Season for Murder (1991)Description / Buy at
Cold in the Earth (1992)Description / Buy at
Murder Among Us (1992)Description / Buy at
Where Old Bones Lie (1993)Description / Buy at
A Fine Place for Death (1994)Description / Buy at
Flowers for His Funeral (1994)Description / Buy at
Candle for a Corpse (1995)Description / Buy at
A Touch of Mortality (1996)Description / Buy at
A Word After Dying (1996)Description / Buy at
Call the Dead Again (1998)Description / Buy at
Beneath These Stones (1999)Description / Buy at
Shades of Murder (2000)Description / Buy at
A Restless Evil (2002)Description / Buy at
That Way Murder Lies (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Fran Varady Books

Asking for Trouble (1997)Description / Buy at
Keeping Bad Company (1997)Description / Buy at
Running Scared (1998)Description / Buy at
Risking It All (2001)Description / Buy at
Watching Out (2002)Description / Buy at
Mixing with Murder (2005)Description / Buy at
Rattling the Bones (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lizzie Martin/Inspector Ben Ross Books

A Rare Interest in Corpses / The Companion (2006)Description / Buy at
A Mortal Curiosity (2007)Description / Buy at
A Better Quality of Murder (2010)Description / Buy at
A Particular Eye for Villainy (2012)Description / Buy at
The Testimony of the Hanged Man (2014)Description / Buy at
The Dead Woman of Deptford (2016)Description / Buy at
The Murderer's Apprentice (2019)Description / Buy at
A Rare Interest In Corpses (2020)Description / Buy at
The Truth-Seeker's Wife (2021)Description / Buy at
The Old Rogue of Limehouse (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Campbell and Carter Mystery Books

Mud, Muck and Dead Things (2009)Description / Buy at
Rack, Ruin and Murder (2011)Description / Buy at
Bricks and Mortality (2013)Description / Buy at
Dead in the Water (2015)Description / Buy at
Rooted in Evil (2017)Description / Buy at
An Unfinished Murder (2018)Description / Buy at
A Matter of Murder (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Poor Relation (1979)Description / Buy at
Summer Heiress (1981)Description / Buy at
The Garden Of Azure Dragon (1986)Description / Buy at
The Unexpected American (1988)Description / Buy at
A Scandalous Bargain (1989)Description / Buy at
False Fortune (1989)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Malice Domestic 9(2000)Description / Buy at

Note: A Rare Interest in Corpses was also published as The Companion. All standalone novels were written as Ann Hulme.

If You Like Ann Granger Books, You’ll Love…

Ann Granger Synopsis: Summer Heiress by Ann Hulme (Ann Granger) is a standalone historical romance novel. Following the death of her parents, Aurelia is left with some bad debts. It seems as if she will be forced to sell the family plantation, but Aurelia is determined to find an alternative.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ann Granger Books

Leave a Reply