Martha Grimes is an American novelist of detective fiction. She is best known for her Richard Jury character, a chief inspector at Scotland Yard. Her other series feature the characters the Emma Graham and Andi Olivier. She is a self-described Anglophile who sets most of her novels in England.

Martha Grimes made her literary debut in 1981 with The Man With a Load of Mischief, the start of her Richard Jury series. Ever since, she has written at least one novel per year with few exceptions. Below is a list of Martha Grimes’ books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Martha Grimes releases a new book at

Publication Order of Richard Jury Books

The Man With a Load of Mischief (1981)Description / Buy at
The Old Fox Deceiv'd (1982)Description / Buy at
The Anodyne Necklace (1983)Description / Buy at
The Dirty Duck (1984)Description / Buy at
Jerusalem Inn (1984)Description / Buy at
Help the Poor Struggler (1985)Description / Buy at
The Deer Leap (1985)Description / Buy at
I Am the Only Running Footman (1986)Description / Buy at
The Five Bells and Bladebone (1987)Description / Buy at
The Old Silent (1989)Description / Buy at
The Old Contemptibles (1991)Description / Buy at
The Horse You Came In On (1993)Description / Buy at
Rainbow's End (1995)Description / Buy at
The Case Has Altered (1997)Description / Buy at
The Stargazey (1998)Description / Buy at
The Lamorna Wink (1999)Description / Buy at
The Blue Last (2001)Description / Buy at
The Grave Maurice (2002)Description / Buy at
The Winds of Change (2004)Description / Buy at
The Old Wine Shades (2006)Description / Buy at
Dust (2007)Description / Buy at
The Black Cat (2010)Description / Buy at
Vertigo 42 (2014)Description / Buy at
The Knowledge (2018)Description / Buy at
The Old Success (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Emma Graham Books

Hotel Paradise (1995)Description / Buy at
Cold Flat Junction (2000)Description / Buy at
Belle Ruin (2005)Description / Buy at
Fadeaway Girl (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Andi Oliver Books

Publication Order of Foul Matter Books

Foul Matter (2003)Description / Buy at
The Way of All Fish (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Send Bygraves (1989)Description / Buy at
The End of the Pier (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Train Now Departing (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Double Double: A Dual Memoir of Alcoholism (2013)Description / Buy at

Note: The character Maud Chadwick, who appears in the Emma Graham series, is featured in the novel The End of the Pier.

If You Like Martha Grimes Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Martha Grimes Books

Leave a Reply