The Making of America series is a multi-author series of historical and western fiction novels that look at the different aspects of the Frontier days of the United States. Each book is an individual story. Although the series started out being written by different authors, starting with The Texans, it was written by Lee Davis Willoughby – a collective pseudonym of Richard Laymon, William L. DeAndrea and Richard Deming.

The Making of America series started in 1979 with the novel The Wilderness Seekers by Lou Cameron. The series lasted 56 books until The Sixgun Apostles by Lee Davis Willoughby, published in 1987. The books can be read in any order. Below is a list of the Making of America books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Making Of America Books

The Wilderness Seekers(1979)Description / Buy at
The Mountain Breed(1979)Description / Buy at
The Conestoga People(1979)Description / Buy at
The Forty-Niners(1979)Description / Buy at
Hearts Divided(1979)Description / Buy at
The Builders(1979)Description / Buy at
The Land Rushers(1979)Description / Buy at
The Wild and The Wayward(1979)Description / Buy at
The Texans(1980)Description / Buy at
The Alaskans(1980)Description / Buy at
The Golden Staters(1980)Description / Buy at
The River People(1981)Description / Buy at
The Land Grabbers(1981)Description / Buy at
The Ranchers(1981)Description / Buy at
The Homesteaders(1981)Description / Buy at
The Frontier Healers(1981)Description / Buy at
The Buffalo People(1981)Description / Buy at
The Far Islanders(1981)Description / Buy at
The Border Breed(1981)Description / Buy at
The Boomers(1981)Description / Buy at
The Wildcatters(1981)Description / Buy at
The Gunfighters(1981)Description / Buy at
The Cajuns(1981)Description / Buy at
The Donner People(1982)Description / Buy at
The Creoles(1982)Description / Buy at
The Nightriders(1982)Description / Buy at
The Sooners(1982)Description / Buy at
The Vigilantes(1982)Description / Buy at
The Express Riders(1982)Description / Buy at
The Soldiers of Fortune(1982)Description / Buy at
The Wranglers(1982)Description / Buy at
The Baja People(1983)Description / Buy at
The Yukon Breed(1983)Description / Buy at
The Smugglers(1983)Description / Buy at
The Voyageurs(1983)Description / Buy at
The Barbary Coasters(1983)Description / Buy at
The Whalers(1983)Description / Buy at
The Canadians(1983)Description / Buy at
The Prophet's People(1983)Description / Buy at
The Lawmen(1983)Description / Buy at
The Copper Kings(1983)Description / Buy at
The Caribbeans(1983)Description / Buy at
The Trail Blazers(1983)Description / Buy at
The Gamblers(1983)Description / Buy at
The Robber Barons(1983)Description / Buy at
The Assassins(1984)Description / Buy at
The Bounty Hunters(1984)Description / Buy at
The Texas Rangers(1984)Description / Buy at
The Outlaws(1984)Description / Buy at
The Fugitives(1984)Description / Buy at
The Frontier Detectives(1984)Description / Buy at
The Raiders(1984)Description / Buy at
The Rough Riders(1984)Description / Buy at
Warriors of the Code(1985)Description / Buy at
The Sixgun Apostles(1987)Description / Buy at
The Scarlet Sisters(1988)Description / Buy at
Northeast Georgia: A History(2001)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Wilderness Seekers was written by Lou Cameron. The Mountain Breed was written by Aaron Fletcher. The Conestoga People and The Builders were written by Jeanne Sommers. The Forty-Niners was written by John Toombs. Hearts Divided was written by Paula Moore. The Land Rushers was written by Elizabeth Zachary. The Wild and the Wayward was written by Georgia Granger. Every book thereafter was written by Lee Davis Willoughby.

If You Like Making Of America Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Making Of America Books

Leave a Reply