Mortal Engines is a series of post-apocalyptic science fiction novels by British author Philip Reeve. The series is set in the distant future when Earth is now a barren wasteland due to the Sixty Minute War. Nations are a thing of the past, except for in the Anti-Traction League. Independent city-states are now mobile and use giant jaws to fight eachother for resources. The series is also known as Predator Cities and as Hungry City Chronicles in the United States.

The Mortal Engines series began in 2001 with the title novel. The final novel was A Darkling Plain in 2006, although a follow-up novella was published in 2011. There is also a prequel series called Fever Crumb. Below is a list of Philip Reeve’s Mortal Engines books in order of when they were first published (as well as in chronological order):

Get notified when Philip Reeve releases a new book at

Publication Order of Hungry City Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Fever Crumb Books

Publication Order of Hungry City Chronicles Non-Fiction Books

The Illustrated World of Mortal Engines(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Hungry City Chronicles Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Mortal Engines Books

Leave a Reply