Mrs Murphy by Rita Mae Brown
Mrs. Murphy is the central character in a series of cozy mystery novels by American author Rita Mae Brown. The eponymous character in the series, Mrs. Murphy, is actually the cat of 30-something divorcee Mary Minor “Harry” Haristeen. Together, they solve mysteries in the town of Crozet, Virginia.

Rita Mae Brown began her Mrs. Murphy series in 1990 with the novel Wish You Were Here. After over 20 novels, the series is currently ongoing. The series is “co-authored” by Sneaky Pie Brown (Rita’s cat). Below is a list of Rita Mae (and Sneaky Pie) Brown’s Mrs. Murphy books in order of when they were first released (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Rita Mae Brown releases a new book at

Publication Order of Mrs. Murphy Books

Wish You Were Here(1990)Description / Buy at
Rest in Pieces(1992)Description / Buy at
Murder at Monticello(1994)Description / Buy at
Pay Dirt(1995)Description / Buy at
Murder, She Meowed(1996)Description / Buy at
Murder on the Prowl(1998)Description / Buy at
Cat on the Scent(1999)Description / Buy at
Pawing Through the Past(2000)Description / Buy at
Claws and Effect(2001)Description / Buy at
Catch as Cat Can(2002)Description / Buy at
The Tail of the Tip-Off(2003)Description / Buy at
Whisker of Evil(2004)Description / Buy at
Cat's Eyewitness(2005)Description / Buy at
Sour Puss(2006)Description / Buy at
Puss 'n Cahoots(2007)Description / Buy at
The Purrfect Murder(2008)Description / Buy at
Santa Clawed(2008)Description / Buy at
Cat of the Century(2010)Description / Buy at
Hiss of Death(2011)Description / Buy at
The Big Cat Nap(2012)Description / Buy at
Sneaky Pie for President(2012)Description / Buy at
The Litter of the Law(2013)Description / Buy at
Nine Lives to Die(2014)Description / Buy at
Tail Gait(2015)Description / Buy at
Tall Tail(2016)Description / Buy at
A Hiss Before Dying(2018)Description / Buy at
Probable Claws(2018)Description / Buy at
Whiskers in the Dark(2019)Description / Buy at
Furmidable Foes(2020)Description / Buy at
Claws for Alarm(2021)Description / Buy at
Hiss & Tell(2023)Description / Buy at
Feline Fatale(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mrs. Murphy Books, You’ll Love…

Mrs. Murphy Synopsis: Wish You Were Here is the first in Rita Mae Brown and Sneaky Pie Brown’s Mrs. Murphy Mysteries. Crozet, Virginia is a small town full of secrets, which explode when a murder occurs. Mary Minor “Harry” Haristeen is the owner of a tiger cat named Mrs. Murphy, a Welsh Corgi named Tucker and… a pending divorce. She also has the curiosity of a cat and can’t stop reading other people’s postcards. People are being murdered and Harry recalls seeing a postcard with a tombstone that read “Wish you were here” on the back. Quickly, Mrs. Murphy and Tucker are on the case in order to protect their human companion.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Mrs. Murphy Books

5 Responses to “Order of Mrs. Murphy Books”

  1. JackyKat: 10 years ago

    not sure which book but Pewter got in trouble for sealing a whole chicken in the grocery store. Harry offered to take Pewter home till things cooled down but Pewter never went back to the grocery


    • Brandon: 10 years ago

      Rest in Pieces


    • Margie F.: 5 years ago

      Pewter’s original owner was killed & that’s why she remained with Harry if my memory serves me correctly.


  2. Ddb: 10 years ago

    In what mrs murphy novel did pewter come to live with Harry? She once lived at the grocery store in Crizet


    • Mary Ann: 10 years ago

      Pewter came to live with Harry at night, going back to
      Shiflet’s Market in daytime in MURDER, SHE MEOWED


Leave a Reply