China Bayles is the central character in a series of cozy mystery novels by American novelist Susan Wittig Albert. China is an ex-lawyer who now works as a herbalist based out of Pecan Springs, Texas. There, she prefers to live a quieter existence with close friends and family. The series has been praised for its well thought out plots, characters, settings and overall strong writing.

The China Bayles series began in 1992 with Thyme of Death. Each book in the series features a herb that is the theme of the book. Each novel in the series includes information about growing and using herbs. The series currently ongoing. Below is a list of Susan Wittig Albert’s books in order of when they were first released (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Susan Wittig Albert releases a new book at

Publication Order of China Bayles Books

Publication Order of China Bayles Collections

An Unthymely Death and Other Garden Mysteries(2003)Description / Buy at
China Bayles' Book of Days(2006)Description / Buy at

If You Like China Bayles Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of China Bayles Books

Leave a Reply