Penny Parker by Mildred A Wirt
Penny Parker is the protagonist in a series of children’s mystery novels by American author Mildred A. Wirt. Penny Parker is an amateur sleuth, high school student and newspaper reporter for her father’s newspaper. After her mother died when she was young, she was raised by the family housekeeper, Mrs. Weems. Mildred A. Wirt was quoted as saying, “I always thought Penny Parker was a better Nancy Drew than Nancy is.”

Mildred A. Wirt began her Penny Parker series in 1939 with the novel Tale of the Witch Doll. The series lasted 17 novels, concluding in 1947 with the novel The Cry at Midnight. There is one additional novel that was never finished. Below is a list of Mildred A. Wirt’s Penny Parker books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Penny Parker Mystery Stories Books

Tale of the Witch Doll(1939)Description / Buy at
The Vanishing Houseboat(1939)Description / Buy at
Danger At The Drawbridge(1940)Description / Buy at
Behind the Green Door(1940)Description / Buy at
Clue of the Silken Ladder(1941)Description / Buy at
The Secret Pact(1941)Description / Buy at
The Clock Strikes Thirteen(1942)Description / Buy at
The Wishing Well(1942)Description / Buy at
Saboteurs on the River(1943)Description / Buy at
Ghost Beyond The Gate(1943)Description / Buy at
Hoofbeats on the Turnpike(1944)Description / Buy at
Voice from the Cave(1944)Description / Buy at
Guilt of the Brass Thieves(1945)Description / Buy at
Signal in the Dark(1946)Description / Buy at
Whispering Walls(1946)Description / Buy at
Swamp Island(1947)Description / Buy at
The Cry At Midnight(1947)Description / Buy at

If You Like Penny Parker Books, You’ll Love…

Penny Parker Synopsis: In Clue of the Silken Ladder by Mildred A. Wirt (book 5), Penny Parker finds a silken ladder and questions its purpose. And does the recent string of burglaries have anything to do with a group of mediums?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Penny Parker Books

Leave a Reply