Pru Marlowe is the protagonist in a series of cozy mystery novels by American novelist Clea Simon. Pru Marlowe is an animal behaviourist with the ability to hear an animal’s thoughts – including her testy tabby Wallis.

Clea Simon began her Pru Marlowe series in 2011 with the novel Dogs Don’t Lie. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Clea Simon’s Pru Marlowe books in order of when they were first published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Clea Simon releases a new book at

Publication Order of Pru Marlowe Books

Dogs Don't Lie(2010)Description / Buy at
Cats Can't Shoot(2012)Description / Buy at
Parrots Prove Deadly(2013)Description / Buy at
Panthers Play for Keeps(2014)Description / Buy at
Kittens Can Kill(2015)Description / Buy at
When Bunnies Go Bad(2016)Description / Buy at
Fear on Four Paws(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Pru Marlowe Books, You’ll Love…

Pru Marlowe Synopsis: Dogs Don’t Lie by Clea Simon is the first book in the Pru Marlowe series. Pru Marlowe isn’t your ordinary animal psychic – if such a thing exists. A tough girl on the run from her own gift, Pru left the big city to return to her quaint Berkshires hometown looking for a little peace. Too bad that her training as an animal behaviorist got her mixed up with Lily, a rescue dog, and Charles, her person. Now Charles is dead, and Lily looks good for it. After all, Lily is a pitbull, a fighting-ring dropout, and way too traumatized to give Pru a clear picture of what she has witnessed. But Pru knows something about bad girls trying to clean up, and, with a sense of justice strong enough to overcome her dislike of human society, she takes the case. Listening to the animals, Pru picks up clues – and learns there are secrets in the pretty little town that make murder look simple. Unable to tell anybody about her psychic abilities, uncertain at times about her own sanity, Pru comes to realize that if she clears Lily, she’ll likely become the prime suspect – or the next victim. While the only creature she can totally trust is her crotchety tabby Wallis, Pru’s got to uncover the real killer – and find a way to live with her gift – before the real beasts in the town savage her and those she has come to love.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Pru Marlowe Books

Leave a Reply