Saga of Darren Shan Cirque du Freak
The Saga of Darren Shan (aka Cirque du Freak) is a series of YA fantasy/horror/thriller novels by Irish author Darren Shan. The protagonist of the series is named after the author, but (as far as we know) the series is not biographical. Shan is a regular everyday boy who becomes the assistant of vampire Larten Crepsley, who makes him a half-vampire. The series was adapted to a film entitled Cirque du Freak: The Vampire’s Assistant in 2009. The series is preceded by Shan’s Saga of Larten Crepsley series.

The Saga of Darren Shan began in 1999 with the novel Cirque du Freak: A Living Nightmare. The series lasted 12 novels, concluding in 2004 with Sons of Destiny. The series is divided into four trilogies – Vampire Blood/Vampire’s Assistant, Vampire Rites, Vampire War and Vampire Destiny. Below is a list of Darren Shan’s Saga of Darren Shan books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order);

Get notified when Darren Shan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Saga Of Darren Shan Books

A Living Nightmare(2000)Description / Buy at
The Vampire's Assistant(2000)Description / Buy at
Tunnels of Blood(2000)Description / Buy at
Vampire Mountain(2001)Description / Buy at
Trials of Death(2001)Description / Buy at
The Vampire Prince(2002)Description / Buy at
Hunters of the Dusk(2002)Description / Buy at
Allies of the Night(2002)Description / Buy at
Killers of the Dawn(2003)Description / Buy at
The Lake of Souls(2003)Description / Buy at
Lord of the Shadows(2004)Description / Buy at
Sons of Destiny(2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Cirque Du Freak: The Manga Graphic Novel Books

A Living Nightmare(2003)Description / Buy at
The Vampire's Assistant(2009)Description / Buy at
Tunnels of Blood(2009)Description / Buy at
Vampire Mountain(2010)Description / Buy at
Trials of Death(2010)Description / Buy at
The Vampire Prince(2010)Description / Buy at
Hunters of the Dusk(2010)Description / Buy at
Allies of the Night(2011)Description / Buy at
Killers of the Dawn(2011)Description / Buy at
The Lake of Souls(2011)Description / Buy at
Lord of the Shadows(2011)Description / Buy at
Sons of Destiny(2012)Description / Buy at

If You Like Saga Of Darren Shan Books, You’ll Love…

Saga of Darren Shan Synopses: Cirque du Freak is the first book in the Saga of Darren Shan series. Darren Shan just wants to hang out with his friends until they come across an invite for two of them to see the Cirque du Freak. This begins Darren’s journey into the dark world of vampires.

The Vampire’s Assistant is book 2 in the Saga of Darren Shan series. After travelling with Larten Crepsley, Darren returns to the Cirque du Freak where he must satisfy his thirst for human blood.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Saga Of Darren Shan Books

Leave a Reply