The Shadow Children sequence is a series of sci-fi/fantasy novels by American author Margaret Peterson Haddix. The series is about a dystopian country that is suffering from food shortages as a result of a drought, while the government attempts to control all of the resources of the country. “Shadow Children” are the third, fourth, fifth (and so on) children in a family, and they are sought after and either imprisoned or killed.

The Shadow Children series began in 1998 with Among the Hidden. The series would run until 2006 when Among the Free was published. Below is a list of Margaret Peterson Haddix’s Shadow Children books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Margaret Peterson Haddix releases a new book at

Publication Order of Shadow Children Books

Among the Hidden(1998)Description / Buy at
Among the Impostors(2001)Description / Buy at
Among the Betrayed(2002)Description / Buy at
Among the Barons(2003)Description / Buy at
Among the Brave(2004)Description / Buy at
Among the Enemy(2005)Description / Buy at
Among the Free(2006)Description / Buy at
Order of Books » Characters » Order of Shadow Children Books

Leave a Reply