Margaret Peterson Haddix is an American author of science fiction, fantasy, historical fiction and suspense novels, among other genres, especially targeted at young adults. She is best known for her series The Missing and the Shadow Children. She started out as a copy editor for a newspaper, a newspaper reporter and a freelance writer.

Margaret Peterson Haddix made her fiction debut in 1995 with Running Out of Time. Below is a list of Margaret Peterson Haddix’s books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Get notified when Margaret Peterson Haddix releases a new book at

Publication Order of Children of Exile Books

Children of Exile (2016)Description / Buy at
Children of Refuge (2017)Description / Buy at
Children of Jubilee (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Greystone Secrets Books

Publication Order of The Missing Books

Publication Order of Mysteries of Trash and Treasure Books

The Secret Letters (2022)Description / Buy at
The Ghostly Photos (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Palace Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Running Out Of Time Books

Running Out of Time (1995)Description / Buy at
Falling Out of Time (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Shadow Children Books

Among the Hidden (1998)Description / Buy at
Among the Impostors (2001)Description / Buy at
Among the Betrayed (2002)Description / Buy at
Among the Barons (2003)Description / Buy at
Among the Brave (2004)Description / Buy at
Among the Enemy (2005)Description / Buy at
Among the Free (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Under Their Skin Books

Under Their Skin (2016)Description / Buy at
In Over Their Heads (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey (1997)Description / Buy at
Leaving Fishers (1997)Description / Buy at
Turnabout (2000)Description / Buy at
The Girl with 500 Middle Names (2001)Description / Buy at
Takeoffs and Landings (2001)Description / Buy at
Because of Anya (2002)Description / Buy at
Escape from Memory (2003)Description / Buy at
The House on the Gulf (2004)Description / Buy at
Say What? (2004)Description / Buy at
Double Identity (2005)Description / Buy at
Dexter the Tough (2007)Description / Buy at
Uprising (2007)Description / Buy at
Claim to Fame (2009)Description / Buy at
The Always War (2011)Description / Buy at
Game Changer (2012)Description / Buy at
Full Ride (2013)Description / Buy at
The Summer of Broken Things (2018)Description / Buy at
Remarkables (2019)Description / Buy at
The School for Whatnots (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Thad, the Ghost, and Me (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The 39 Clues Books

The Maze of Bones (By: Rick Riordan) (2008)Description / Buy at
One False Note (By: Gordon Korman) (2008)Description / Buy at
The Sword Thief (By: Peter Lerangis) (2009)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Grave (By: Jude Watson) (2009)Description / Buy at
The Black Circle (By: Patrick Carman) (2009)Description / Buy at
In Too Deep (By: Jude Watson) (2009)Description / Buy at
The Viper's Nest (By: Peter Lerangis) (2010)Description / Buy at
The 39 Clues: Agent Handbook (By: Scholastic Inc.) (2010)Description / Buy at
The Emperor's Code (By: Gordon Korman) (2010)Description / Buy at
Storm Warning (By: Linda Sue Park) (2010)Description / Buy at
Into the Gauntlet (2010)Description / Buy at
Vespers Rising (By: Jude Watson) (2011)Description / Buy at
The Black Book of Buried Secrets (Companion Book) (By: Rick Riordan) (2012)Description / Buy at
Midnight Ride (By: Clifford Riley) (2013)Description / Buy at
Midnight Ride is a prequel.

Publication Order of Anthologies

I Believe in Water: Twelve Brushes with Religion(2000)Description / Buy at
On the Edge(2000)Description / Buy at
Destination Unexpected: Short Stories(2003)Description / Buy at
Unexpected(2005)Description / Buy at
Twice Told(2006)Description / Buy at
Swashbuckling Fantasy(2006)Description / Buy at
Guys Read: Thriller(2011)Description / Buy at

If You Like Margaret Peterson Haddix Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Margaret Peterson Haddix Books

Leave a Reply