The Vampire Diaries is a series of YA horror novels by American author L.J. Smith. The original series involves a young high school girl torn between brothers – a typical story, except for the fact that the brothers are vampires. The series was adapted to a supernatural drama television series for The CW.

The Vampire Diaries began in 1991 with the novel The Awakening. The series was originally planned to be a trilogy, but pressure from the published would force Smith to write the fourth novel, Dark Reunion, published in ’92. The Return series began in 2009 with Nightfall and ended in 2010 with Midnight. Stefan’s Diaries started in 2010 with Origins and is ongoing. The Hunters series began in 2011 with Phantom and ended in 2012 with Destiny Rising. Below is a list of L.J. Smith’s Vampire Diaries Universe books in order of when they were originally published (and in chronological order):

Get notified when L.J. Smith releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Vampire Diaries Books

Publication Order of The Vampire Diaries: Stefan's Diaries Books

(By: L.J. Smith, Julie Plec)

Publication Order of The Vampire Diaries: The Hunters Books

Publication Order of The Vampire Diaries: The Return Books

Publication Order of The Vampire Diaries: The Salvation Books

Note: The Hunters and Stefan’s Diaries series are purportedly ghostwritten. The Salvation Trilogy is written by Aubrey Clark, based on the characters of L.J. Smith.

If You Like Vampire Diaries Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Vampire Diaries Books

2 Responses to “Order of Vampire Diaries Books”

  1. leeeeeeeeeeee: 3 years ago

    how do i know that it is in order because there are different webite but different book and different order how do i know which one is true and which ones i should order because i dont want to get the wrong one.


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      I’m not sure about other websites but I just verified it and ours is the correct order.


Leave a Reply