Starbridge Church of England by Susan Howatch
The Starbridge series is a series of novels by British author Susan Howatch. The series looks at the Church of England in the 1930s (in the first three books) and the 1960s (in the second three books). Each book in the series is essentially a standalone and has its own narrator, although the books are all connected by common characters. Events occur in multiple novels, but are looked at from different points of view. “Starbridge” refers to an Anglican diocese in the west of England, based on Salisbury. The series is also known as the Church of England series and is connected to the author’s later St. Benet’s Trilogy.

Susan Howatch began her Starbridge series in 1987 with the novel Glittering Images. The series consists of six novels, concluding with the 1994 novel Absolute Truths. The books can be read in any order, or as standalones. Below is a list of Susan Howatch’s Starbridge books in order of when they were first released (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Susan Howatch releases a new book at

Publication Order of Starbridge Books

Glittering Images(1987)Description / Buy at
Glamorous Powers(1988)Description / Buy at
Ultimate Prizes(1989)Description / Buy at
Scandalous Risks(1990)Description / Buy at
Mystical Paths(1992)Description / Buy at
Absolute Truths(1995)Description / Buy at

If You Like Starbridge Books, You’ll Love…

Starbridge/Church of England Synopsis: Glittering Images by Susan Howatch is the first in the Starbridge series. The novel is a story of spirituality and morality where the loyalties and desires of four people are played out against their dedication to their church and doing the right thing.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Starbridge Books

Leave a Reply