Tales from the Odyssey by Mary Pope Osborne
Tales from the Odyssey is a series of children’s adventure novels by American author Mary Pope Osborne. The series is a re-telling of Homer’s Odyssey from Greek mythology, written for younger readers (ages 8+). Odysseus must sail stormy seas and battle cannibals, a witch and monsters like a six-headed sea serpent if he ever wants to see his family again.

Mary Pope Osborne began her Tales from the Odyssey series with the book The One Eyed Giant, which was published in 2002. The series lasted six installments, concluding in 2004 with The Final Battle. The books have also been collected into two omnibuses titled Tales from the Odyssey: Part 1 & Part 2. The books should be read in order. Below is a list of Mary Pope Osborne’s Tales from the Odyssey books in order of when they were first published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Mary Pope Osborne releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Tales From The Odyssey Books

The One-Eyed Giant(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Land of the Dead(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sirens and Sea Monsters(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Gray-Eyed Goddess(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Return to Ithaca(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Final Battle(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Tales From The Odyssey Books, You’ll Love…

Tales From The Odyssey Synopses: The One-Eyed Giant is the first book in the Tales from the Odyssey series by Mary Pope Osborne (author of the Magic Tree House children’s series). Odysseus must leave home to fight in the Trojan War, but has no idea how long he’ll be away from his family. Now he is leading his men to battle against the cycloptic giant, Polyphemus.

The Land of the Dead is the next book in the Tales from the Odyssey series. Before Odysseus and his men can return home to Ithaca, they must battle cannibals and a witch who sends them into the Land of the Dead.

In Sirens and Sea Monsters (third in the series), Odysseus and his men must battle the six-headed monster, Scylla, and the deadly whirlpool, Charybdis. Will they be able to survive these dangerous encounters and return home to Ithaca?

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Tales From The Odyssey Books

Leave a Reply