Thorn P.I. is a series of suspense thrillers by American novelist James W. Hall. Thorn is not a real private investigator, but rather an avenger. Hall based the character on Henry David Thoreau, Travis McGee, Spenser and some of Elmore Leonard‘s protagonists.

The Thorn P.I. series began in 1986 with Under Cover of Daylight. Below is a list of James W. Hall’s Thorn P.I. novels in order of when they were originally published (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when James W. Hall releases a new book at

Publication Order of Thorn Books

Note: Tropical Freeze is alternatively titled Squall Line.

If You Like Thorn P.I. Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Thorn P.I. Books

Leave a Reply