Toby Peters by Stuart M Kaminsky
Toby Peters is the central character in a series of historical mystery novels by American author Stuart M. Kaminsky. Set in the 1940s, Toby Peters is a private investigator who works in Hollywood. Naturally, his cases involve the Hollywood stars at the time, such as The Marx Brothers, Judy Garland, Errol Flynn, Howard Hughes, Bela Lugosi, Gary Cooper, Clark Gable, Humphrey Bogart, Bette Davis, Charlie Chaplin, Cary Grant and many others.

Stuart Kaminsky began his Toby Peters series in 1977 with the novel Bullet for a Star. The series concluded with Now You See It in 2004 after 24 books in the series. Below is a list of Stuart M. Kaminsky’s Toby Peters books in order of when they were first released (which is also their chronology):

Publication Order of Toby Peters Books

Bullet for a Star(1977)Description / Buy at
Murder on the Yellow Brick Road(1977)Description / Buy at
You Bet Your Life(1978)Description / Buy at
The Howard Hughes Affair(1979)Description / Buy at
Never Cross a Vampire(1980)Description / Buy at
High Midnight(1981)Description / Buy at
Catch a Falling Clown(1982)Description / Buy at
He Done Her Wrong(1983)Description / Buy at
The Fala Factor(1984)Description / Buy at
Down for the Count(1985)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Shot Lewis Vance(1986)Description / Buy at
Smart Moves(1987)Description / Buy at
Think Fast, Mr. Peters(1988)Description / Buy at
Buried Caesars(1989)Description / Buy at
Poor Butterfly(1990)Description / Buy at
The Melting Clock(1991)Description / Buy at
The Devil Met a Lady(1993)Description / Buy at
Tomorrow is Another Day(1995)Description / Buy at
Dancing in the Dark(1996)Description / Buy at
A Fatal Glass of Beer(1997)Description / Buy at
A Few Minutes Past Midnight(2001)Description / Buy at
To Catch A Spy(2002)Description / Buy at
Mildred Pierced(2003)Description / Buy at
Now You See It(2004)Description / Buy at

If You Like Toby Peters Books, You’ll Love…

Toby Peters Synopses: The first book of the Toby Peters series is entitled Bullet for a Star. Toby Peters is a hardboiled detective in Hollywood, while someone is covering the city in bodies. Toby Peters now has to protect Errol Flynn from a bullet headed his way.

The second book in the Toby Peters series is Murder on the Yellow Brick Road. The year after The Wizard of Oz was released, the sets are smashed and a munchkin is found dead by Judy Garland. The studio calls for Toby Peters’ help. But could Judy Garland herself be the next target?

Book #3 in the series is You Bet Your Life. Chico Marx gets a package from Chicago with an ear inside and a message asking for a gambling debt of $120,000 to be paid off. However, Chico hasn’t been to Chicago to gamble. Chico goes to Louis B. Mayer, who goes to Toby Peters for help.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Toby Peters Books

Leave a Reply