Trail Drive by Ralph Compton
The Trail Drive series is a series of western novels created by American author Ralph Compton and later written by other authors. Following the Civil War, all Texas had left were longhorn cattle. In order to get them to the railroad, they must travel across 300 miles of Indian land.

Ralph Compton began his Trail Drive series in 1992 with the novel The Goodnight Trail. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Ralph Compton’s Trail Drive books in order of when they were first released (which is the same as their chronological order):

Publication Order of Trail Drive Books

The Goodnight Trail(1992)Description / Buy at
The Western Trail(1992)Description / Buy at
The Chisholm Trail(1993)Description / Buy at
The Bandera Trail(1993)Description / Buy at
The California Trail(1994)Description / Buy at
The Shawnee Trail(1994)Description / Buy at
The Virginia City Trail(1994)Description / Buy at
The Dodge City Trail(1995)Description / Buy at
The Oregon Trail(1995)Description / Buy at
The Santa Fe Trail(1997)Description / Buy at
The Old Spanish Trail(1998)Description / Buy at
The Green River Trail(1999)Description / Buy at
The Deadwood Trail(1999)Description / Buy at
The Dakota Trail(2001)Description / Buy at
The Alamosa Trail(2002)Description / Buy at
The Bozeman Trail(2002)Description / Buy at
The Abilene Trail(2003)Description / Buy at
Trail To Fort Smith(2004)Description / Buy at
The Palo Duro Trail(2004)Description / Buy at
The Ogallala Trail(2005)Description / Buy at
The Ellsworth Trail(2005)Description / Buy at
The Tenderfoot Trail(2006)Description / Buy at
Trail to Cottonwood Falls(2007)Description / Buy at
The Amarillo Trail(2011)Description / Buy at
The Omaha Trail(2012)Description / Buy at
Big Jake's Last Drive(2020)Description / Buy at
The Kelly Trail(2020)Description / Buy at
Drive for Independence(2020)Description / Buy at
Red Trail(2020)Description / Buy at
The Empire Trail(2021)Description / Buy at
The Too-Late Trail(2021)Description / Buy at
Terror Trail(2021)Description / Buy at
The Saltwater Trail(2022)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Dakota Trail, The Alamosa Trail and The Bozeman Trail were written by Robert Vaughn based on the work of Ralph Compton. The Abilene Trail, Trail to Fort Smith, The Ogallala Trail and Trail to Cottonwood Falls were written by Dusty Richards. The Palo Duro Trail, The Ellsworth Trail, The Amarillo Trail and The Omaha Trail were written by Jory Sherman. The Tenderfoot Trail were written by Joseph A. West.

If You Like Trail Drive Books, You’ll Love…

Trail Drive Synopsis: In The Goodnight Trail by Ralph Compton, Benton McCaleb, Will Elliot and Brazos Gifford are three former Texas Rangers who are riding with Charles Goodnight, who is rounding up thousands of cattle all the way to Colorado. From the Trinity River to Denver, Colorado, they must navigate flooded rivers, desert land and drunken Comanches. They will also have face-to-face meetings with Judge Roy Bean and gunslinger Clay Allison. They will either reach the finish line or die trying.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Trail Drive Books

Leave a Reply