Valdemar by Mercedes Lackey
Valdemar is a series of fantasy novels and short stories by American author Mercedes Lackey. The series encompasses several different series, including both novels and short stories, most of which authored by Lackey.

Mercedes Lackey began her Valdemar series in 1987 with the novel Arrows of the Queen. She followed it up that same year with Arrow’s Flight. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Mercedes Lackey’s Valdemar books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Mercedes Lackey releases a new book at

Publication Order of Valdemar: Heralds Of Valdemar Books

Arrows of the Queen(1987)Description / Buy at
Arrow's Flight(1987)Description / Buy at
Arrow's Fall(1988)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Valdemar: Vows and Honor Books

Publication Order of Valdemar: The Last Herald-Mage Books

Publication Order of Valdemar: Mage Winds Books

Publication Order of Valdemar: Mage Wars Books

The Black Gryphon(1994)Description / Buy at
The White Gryphon(1995)Description / Buy at
The Silver Gryphon(1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Valdemar: Mage Storms Books

Publication Order of Valdemar: Collegium Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Valdemar: The Herald Spy Books

Closer to Home(2014)Description / Buy at
Closer to the Heart(2015)Description / Buy at
Closer to the Chest(2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Valdemar: Family Spies Books

Publication Order of Valdemar: Mage Storms Books

Publication Order of Valdemar: Kerowyn's Tale Books

Publication Order of Valdemar: The Tale of Lavan Firestorm Books

Brightly Burning(2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Valdemar Short Stories/Novellas

Stolen Silver(1991)Description / Buy at
The Arrows of the Queen Concordance:Valdemar in Talia's Time(1994)Description / Buy at
On the Other Side(2010)Description / Buy at
A Storytelling of Crows(2011)Description / Buy at
A Charm of Finches(2011)Description / Buy at
A Leash of Greyhounds(2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Valdemar Anthologies

Valdemar Companion(1990)Description / Buy at
Sword of Ice and Other Tales of Valdemar(1997)Description / Buy at
Sun in Glory and Other Tales of Valdemar(2003)Description / Buy at
Crossroads and Other Tales of Valdemar(2005)Description / Buy at
Moving Targets and Other Tales of Valdemar(2008)Description / Buy at
Changing the World(2009)Description / Buy at
Finding the Way and Other Tales of Valdemar(2010)Description / Buy at
Under the Vale and Other Tales of Valdemar(2011)Description / Buy at
The One Left Behind(2014)Description / Buy at
No True Way(2014)Description / Buy at
Crucible(2015)Description / Buy at
Tempest(2016)Description / Buy at
Pathways(2017)Description / Buy at
The Demon's Den and Other Tales of Valdemar(2018)Description / Buy at
Choices(2018)Description / Buy at
Seasons(2019)Description / Buy at
Passages(2020)Description / Buy at
Boundaries(2021)Description / Buy at
Shenanigans(2022)Description / Buy at
Anything With Nothing(2023)Description / Buy at
Feuds(2024)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Valdemar: Mage Wars series was co-authored with Larry Dixon. The non-fiction book The Valdemar Companion is co-authored by John Helfers and Denise Little.

If You Like Valdemar Books, You’ll Love…

Valdemar Synopsis: Arrows of the Queen by Mercedes Lackey is her debut novel and the first in the Valdemar series. It is also the first novel in the Heralds of Valdemar sub-series. Talia is a young runaway who rescues one of the legendary Companions and becomes a herald of the royal court. When she learns of a plot in order to steal the throne away, Talia will have to use her empathic powers in order to stop the coup.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Valdemar Books

One Response to “Order of Valdemar Books”

  1. CatStedman2012: 7 years ago

    ‘Brightly Burning’ actually precedes the Exile duology, coming after the Herald Spy trilogy. The proper chronological order for ALL of the current (as of March 2017) Valdemar novels is

    Mage Wars (Black, White, and Silver Gryphon novels)

    The Last Herald Mage (Magic’s Pawn, Promise, and Price)

    The Collegium Chronicles (Foundation, Intrigues, Changes, Redoubt, Bastion)

    The Herald Spy (Closer to Home, Chest, Heart) –

    [Soon to be published] The Family Spies

    Brightly Burning

    Vows and Honor (Oathbound, Oathbreaker, Oathblood)

    Exile’s Honor/Valor

    Take a Theif

    Queen’s Own (Arrows of the Queen, Flight, Fall)

    By the Sword {Bear in mind, most of what happens in Kerowyn’s tale actually occurs during the same time as Take a Theif and Arrows, but in a different nation. The last part of the book, set in Valdemar, happens after “Arrow’s Fall”.

    Mage Winds (Winds of Fate, Change, Fury)

    Mage Storms (Storm Warning, Rising, Breaking)

    Darian’s Tale (Owlflight, Owlsight, Owlknight)


Leave a Reply