The Whales and Tails Mysteries series is a series of cozy mystery novels by American novelist Kathi Daley. The series follows Caitlin Hart, who works at her aunt’s cat sanctuary in the San Juan Islands of Washington State. She also helps run a coffee bar/bookstore/cat lounge (yes, both of her jobs involve cats). But when murder occurs, she will end up working a third job of sorts – amateur sleuth.

Kathi Daley began her Whales and Tails Mysteries series in 2014 with the novel Romeow and Juliet. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Kathi Daley’s Whales and Tails Mysteries books in order of when they were originally published (which is the same as their chronological order):

Get notified when Kathi Daley releases a new book at

Publication Order of Whales and Tails Mysteries Books

Romeow and Juliet(2015)Description / Buy at
The Mad Catter(2015)Description / Buy at
Grimm's Furry Tail(2015)Description / Buy at
Much Ado About Felines(2015)Description / Buy at
The Legend of Tabby Hollow(2015)Description / Buy at
The Cat of Christmas Past(2015)Description / Buy at
A Tale of Two Tabbies(2016)Description / Buy at
The Great Catsby(2016)Description / Buy at
Count Catula(2016)Description / Buy at
The Cat of Christmas Present(2016)Description / Buy at
A Winter's Tail(2017)Description / Buy at
Taming of the Tabby(2017)Description / Buy at
Frankencat(2017)Description / Buy at
The Cat of Christmas Future(2017)Description / Buy at
Farewell to Felines(2018)Description / Buy at
A Whisker in Time(2018)Description / Buy at
The Catsgiving Feast(2018)Description / Buy at
A Whale of a Tail(2019)Description / Buy at
The Catnap Before Christmas(2019)Description / Buy at
A Mew Beginning(2020)Description / Buy at
CATastrophe in the Making(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Whales and Tails Mysteries Books, You’ll Love…

Whales and Tails Mysteries Synopsis: Romeow and Juliet by Kathi Daley is the first book in a cozy mystery series set on Madrona Island, an island within the San Juan Islands off the coast of Washington State. As a fourth generation resident, Caitlin Hart is struggling to make her way as the economy and culture of the island evolves toward a tourism based industry. Cait lives in a cabin on her aunt’s oceanfront estate where she helps her aunt run Harthaven Cat Sanctuary. When she isn’t working with the cats, she helps best friend Tara, operate the coffee bar/bookstore/cat lounge they own, named Coffee Cat Books. Cait and her dog Max find the body of a member of the island council dead in the back room of the old fish cannery. As Cait delves into the murder she finds herself with an unlikely sleuthing partner that might just lead to a relationship of a more personal kind. Meanwhile, Romeo, as stray cat that followed Cait home, is causing all sorts of problems for Cait as, in spite of dire warnings from the neighbor next door, he refuses to stay away from her very expensive show cat, Juliet. Could Romeo really be trying to tell Cait something about the neighbor that she initially refuses to see?

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Whales and Tails Mysteries Books

Leave a Reply