William Monk is a fictional character created by British novelist Anne Perry. He is the protagonist in a series of detective novels set in the mid-19th century. Monk is clever, sarcastic and very emotional. Once he gets into a case, he becomes determined and then obsessed.

The William Monk series began with The Face of a Stranger in 1990. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Anne Perry’s William Monk books in order of when they were originally released (and in chronological order):

Publication Order of William Monk Books

The Face of a Stranger(1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Dangerous Mourning(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Defend and Betray(1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Sudden, Fearful Death(1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Sins of the Wolf(1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cain His Brother(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Weighed in the Balance(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Silent Cry(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Breach of Promise/The Whited Sepulchres(1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Twisted Root(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Slaves of Obsession(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Funeral in Blue(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death of a Stranger(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Shifting Tide(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dark Assassin(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Execution Dock(2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Acceptable Loss(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Sunless Sea(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Blind Justice(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Blood on the Water(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Corridors of the Night(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Revenge in a Cold River(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Echo of Murder(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dark Tide Rising(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: The Whited Sepulchers is also known as A Breach of Promise.

If You Like William Monk Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Characters » Order of William Monk Books

One Response to “Order of William Monk Books”

  1. kate sarginson: 9 years ago

    Great series. I first started reading Anne Perry with her first book involving
    Charlotte and Thomas Pitt in The Cater Street Hangman. It was a terrific series until Pitt got transferred from the police to the Special Investigations
    about four books ago. I stopped reading those then as they were totally tiresome and more Victorian spy novels with none of the deep characterizations that made her books so good. So far that has not happened to this series.


Leave a Reply