The Mystery Man series is a series of comic caper novels by Irish author Colin Bateman. The series follows The Man with No Name (not Clint Eastwood), who runs a bookshop in Belfast, Northern Ireland called No Alibis. But when the local detective agency goes under, he ends up getting the call to work as […]


John Dortmunder is a character featured in a series of novels by American novelist Donald E. Westlake. The first novel in the series, The Hot Rock was originally intended to be a Parker novel. Like Parker, Dortmunder is a career criminal, although he is a non-violent criminal who prefers to plan out elaborate schemes, which […]


Alan Grofield is a character created by American author Donald Westlake using the pseudonym Richard Stark. At first, Grofield was just a companion of Parker‘s, who eventually got his own series. Alan Grofield is a career criminal and, like Parker, is a thief-by-trade.


Parker is a fictional character created by American author Donald E. Westlake who published the series of books under the pseudonym Richard Stark. Parker is a professional thief who is relentless and has no redeemable qualities whatsoever. He is perfectly fine with committing murder if someone is standing between him and what he wants. Several […]


Donald E. Westlake (1933-2008) was an American novelist who was best known for comic capers, but he also contributed to genres including more general crime fiction, science fiction and lots more. He wrote under many different pseudonyms, including Richard Stark (his best-known pen name), Alan Marshall, Andrew Shaw, Edwin West, John B. Allan, Don Holliday, […]