The Walker Family Mysteries is a series of novels by American author J.A. Jance. Although the Walker Family Mysteries series started back in 1991 with Hour of the Hunter, the series didn’t resume until ten years later with Kiss of the Bees.


J.A. Jance is the pseudonym of American novelist Judith Ann Jance. Jance’s publishers convinced her to use the gender-neutral pen name “J.A. Jance” because she was writing mystery novels about a male detective. Jance’s novels fall into the mystery and horror genres.