Adam Gidwitz is an American author of children’s novels. He writes the Unicorn Rescue Society series. Adam attended a school without very many rules – which he managed to break nonetheless. He studied English literature in college, as he felt that fiction contained the deepest truths about life. Following graduation, he began teaching grade school in New York. It was there that while he was putting on a play with puppets for the kids, one of the mothers of the kids happened to catch it, and thought he’d make a good writer. She was a literary agent. Adam lives in Brooklyn, New York with his wife and daughter.

Adam Gidwitz made his debut as a published author in 2010 with the novel A Tale Dark and Grimm. Below is a list of Adam Gidwitz’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Adam Gidwitz releases a new book at

Publication Order of A Tale Dark & Grimm Books

A Tale Dark & Grimm (2010)Description / Buy at
In a Glass Grimmly (2012)Description / Buy at
The Grimm Conclusion (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back Books

So You Want to Be a Jedi? (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Unicorn Rescue Society Books

(with Hena Khan)

The Creature of the Pines (2018)Description / Buy at
The Basque Dragon (2018)Description / Buy at
Sasquatch and the Muckleshoot (2018)Description / Buy at
The Chupacabras of the Rio Grande (2020)Description / Buy at
The Madre de Aguas of Cuba (2020)Description / Buy at
The Secret of the Himalayas (With: Hena Khan) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Inquisitor's Tale (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Who Done It?(2013)Description / Buy at
Guys Read: Terrifying Tales(2015)Description / Buy at
The Creativity Project(2018)Description / Buy at
The Talk: Conversations About Race, Love & Truth(2020)Description / Buy at
Hope Wins(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Adam Gidwitz Books, You’ll Love…

Adam Gidwitz Synopsis: A Tale Dark and Grimm is the first Grimm book by Adam Gidwitz. Hansel and Gretel walk out of their own story and into eight other classic Grimm (and Grimm-inspired) fairy tales. An irreverent, witty narrator leads us through encounters with witches, warlocks, dragons, and the devil himself. As the siblings roam a forest brimming with menacing foes, they learn the true story behind the famous tales, as well as how to take charge of their destinies and create their own happily ever after. Because once upon a time, fairy tales were awesome.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Adam Gidwitz Books

Leave a Reply