Aimie K. Runyan is an American author of historical fiction novels. Aimie is dedicated to honoring history’s overlooked heroines through her writing. Recognized as an esteemed Historical Novel Society Editors’ Choice selection and a three-time finalist for the Colorado Book Awards, she’s also been nominated for the prestigious Rocky Mountain Fiction Writer of the Year award. Beyond her literary accomplishments, Aimie actively engages as an educator and speaker within the writing community. Residing in Colorado with her remarkable husband, two charming children, two kitties, and a dragon, Aimie finds inspiration in her surroundings.

Aimie K. Runyan made her debut as a novelist in 2016 with Promised to the Crown. Below is a list of Aimie K. Runyan’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Aimie K. Runyan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Daughters of New France Books

Promised to the Crown (2016)Description / Buy at
Duty to the Crown (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Daughters of the Night Sky (2018)Description / Buy at
Girls on the Line (2018)Description / Buy at
Across the Winding River (2020)Description / Buy at
The School for German Brides (2022)Description / Buy at
A Bakery in Paris (2023)Description / Buy at
The Memory of Lavender and Sage (2024)Description / Buy at
Mademoiselle Eiffel (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Tales of Girls and Gadgets(2015)Description / Buy at
The Castle Keepers(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Aimie K. Runyan Books, You’ll Love…

Aimie K. Runyan Synopses: Daughters of the Night Sky is a standalone novel by Aimie K. Runyan. In 1941 Russia, amidst the looming threat of Nazi invasion, Katya Ivanova, a young and determined pilot, finds herself stationed in a remote military academy in the Ural Mountains. Raised in the shadows of her bleak mountain home, Katya has harbored dreams of soaring through the skies since childhood, seeing flight as her ticket to freedom.

Despite the concerns of her new husband, an artist who fears for her safety, Katya remains steadfast in her resolve to serve her country in its time of need. With the Nazis advancing across Europe, Katya eagerly answers the call to arms, determined to fulfill her duty as a proud daughter of Russia.

After rigorous training, Katya is assigned to the 588th Night Bomber Regiment, a unique unit comprised entirely of women pilots. Dubbed the “Night Witches” by their German adversaries, these fearless aviators conduct daring nocturnal raids that strike fear into the hearts of the enemy.

As the brutal campaign takes its toll, Katya and her fellow pilots confront unimaginable challenges and sacrifices. When the dust of war settles, Katya faces the harsh reality that nothing will ever be the same again. Faced with the most agonizing choice of her life, this decorated military heroine must navigate the aftermath of war and chart a path forward in a changed world.

Girls on the Line by Aimie K. Runyan is a standalone novel. In December 1917, amidst the turmoil of World War I, twenty-four-year-old Ruby Wagner, a cherished member of a prominent Philadelphia family, is poised to marry into high society. However, tragedy strikes when her beloved older brother is killed in combat, altering the course of Ruby’s life forever. Moved by a deep sense of duty and determination, Ruby defies societal expectations and answers the call of the Army Signal Corps, volunteering as one of the pioneering “Hello Girls” deployed to war-torn France.

As Ruby embarks on her journey to serve her country, she must navigate the challenges of military life and earn the respect of Allied soldiers in a male-dominated environment. Amidst the chaos of war, Ruby finds herself drawn to army medic Andrew Carrigan, forming a deep bond forged in the crucible of conflict.

As their friendship blossoms into something more, Ruby is faced with a poignant dilemma: to adhere to the conventions of her privileged upbringing and the expectations of her family, or to embrace the uncertainty of an unconventional future with Andrew. Caught between duty and desire, Ruby must summon the courage to make a choice that will shape her destiny and define her legacy.

Across the Winding River is a standalone novel by Aimie K. Runyan. Beth Cohen is determined to cherish every moment she has left with her elderly father, Max. With his health declining, Max’s only request is for Beth to sift through a long-forgotten box of memorabilia from his days as a medic on the western front during World War II. Among the relics of his wartime experiences, Beth discovers a photograph of her father with a captivating and enigmatic woman—a discovery that sparks a myriad of questions and stirs long-buried emotions.

As Beth delves deeper into her father’s past, she learns of Max’s involvement in the underground resistance movement during the war. It was in 1944 that Max was drawn into the clandestine world of resistance, spurred by the courage and conviction of a German woman married to a high-ranking Nazi officer. Together, they risked everything for their beliefs, embarking on a perilous journey marked by romance, defiance, and the relentless pursuit of freedom.

Yet, Max’s wartime memories are not the only ones haunting him. In a nearby care home resides a fragile German-born woman with her own harrowing past. When their paths cross, Beth realizes the profound impact of war on her father’s life, as well as the shared experiences that connect him to others who have endured the ravages of conflict. Through their encounters, Beth discovers the depths of her father’s heartbreak and the healing power of reconciliation and closure.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Aimie K. Runyan Books

Leave a Reply