Alec Hutson is an author of fantasy novels. Alec spent his formative years in a geodesic dome and a bookstore. Currently residing in Shanghai, China, Alec continues to pursue his passion for crafting imaginative worlds through his writing.

Alec Hutson made his debut as an author in 2016 with The Crimson Queen. Below is a list of Alec Hutson’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Alec Hutson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Empire of Flame & Fang Books

The Pale Blade (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Raveling Books

The Crimson Queen (2016)Description / Buy at
The Silver Sorceress (2019)Description / Buy at
The Shadow King (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Sharded Few Books

The Umbral Storm (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Swords and Saints Books

The Cleansing Flame (2019)Description / Buy at
The Twilight Empire (2019)Description / Buy at
The Hollow God (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Shadows of Dust (2021)Description / Buy at
The Book of Zog (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Manticore's Soiree (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Alec Hutson Books, You’ll Love…

Alec Hutson Synopses: The Pale Blade by Alec Hutson is the first book in the Empire of Flame & Fang series. Amidst the vast expanse of the trackless sea, conquerors hailing from distant lands soared on scaled wings, asserting dominance over all who stood in their path. Unyielding before them were the queen, surrounded by her radiant legions, the sorcerers steeped in the power of the jade moon, and the paladins wielding swords crafted from the tears of the Silver Mother.

In the face of this unstoppable force, only one who had already experienced profound loss dared to challenge the invaders. A shepherd girl, her will tempered in the crucible that consumed her heart, emerged as the last hope for a realm left in ruins.

She alone possesses the courage to defy the Empire of Flame and Fang, standing as the beacon of resistance against overwhelming odds.

The Crimson Queen by Alec Hutson is the first book of The Raveling series. In the distant past, the world plunged into twilight as great empires engaged in sorcerous cataclysms, leading to the downfall of the Star Towers in the south and the encasement of northern holdfasts in black glaciers. The remnants of Min-Ceruth’s cities were frozen in both ice and sorcery. From the ancient empire of Menekar, the paladins of Ama emerged, wielding their swords to eradicate surviving sorcerers and cleanse the land for the radiant glory of their lord. The pulse of magic slowed, resembling the fading heartbeat of a dying entity. However, after a millennium, it begins to quicken once more.

In a small fishing village, a boy with peculiar powers matures into his abilities. Simultaneously, a young queen ascends in the west, reigniting the long-dormant embers of magic. An item of immense importance is either stolen or liberated from the enigmatic Empire of Swords and Flowers. Meanwhile, the immortals who endured the ancient cataclysms awaken, searching for the reason behind the sudden transformation of the world.

The Umbral Storm by Alec Hutson is the first book of The Sharded Few series. A millennium ago, the Heart of the World shattered into fragments, scattering them far and wide across the lands. In the ensuing chaos, martial orders emerged, dedicated to gathering these shards. It was discovered that bonding these pieces to the flesh of chosen warriors granted them great powers. These warriors became known as the Sharded Few, driven to absorb enough fragments to attain godhood.

Deryn, a victim of a life filled with suffering, has experienced nothing but hardship. Orphaned on the outskirts of the realms and enslaved by a cruel master, he sees little hope for escaping his circumstances. However, in distant corners of the world, ancient powers stir, new alliances threaten the peace of the old order, and amidst the impending cataclysms, a slave may rise to become a hero.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alec Hutson Books

Leave a Reply