Alex Scarrow is an English author of crime fiction, alternative history, science fiction, and thriller novels for adults, young adults and children. He writes the DCI Boyd, Ellie Quin, Last Light, and TimeRiders series. Alex was a rock musician, but decided against pursuing it further when he figured he would never get a record deal. He went on to be a graphic artist, and then video game designer. He moved onto screenwriting, but ended up turning his screenplay into the novel A Thousand Suns. He is the brother of fellow novelist Simon Scarrow.

Alex Scarrow made his debut as a novelist in 2006 with the aforementioned A Thousand Suns. Below is a list of Alex Scarrow’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Alex Scarrow releases a new book at

Publication Order of DCI Boyd Books

Silent Tide (2021)Description / Buy at
Old Bones New Bones (2021)Description / Buy at
A Burning Truth (2021)Description / Buy at
The Last Train (2021)Description / Buy at
The Safe Place (2022)Description / Buy at
Gone to Ground (2022)Description / Buy at
Argyle House (2022)Description / Buy at
The Lock Up (2023)Description / Buy at
The Archive (2023)Description / Buy at
A Monster Among Us (2024)Description / Buy at
The Vanishing (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ellie Quin Books

The Legend of Ellie Quin (2012)Description / Buy at
The World According to Ellie Quin (2012)Description / Buy at
Beneath the Neon Sky (2012)Description / Buy at
Ellie Quin in Wonder World (2020)Description / Buy at
Girl Reborn (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Last Light Books

Publication Order of Plague Land Books

Plague Land / Remade (2016)Description / Buy at
Plague Nation / Reborn (2017)Description / Buy at
Plague World / No Escape (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of TimeRiders Books

TimeRiders (2010)Description / Buy at
Day of the Predator (2010)Description / Buy at
The Doomsday Code (2011)Description / Buy at
The Eternal War (2011)Description / Buy at
Gates of Rome (2012)Description / Buy at
City of Shadows (2012)Description / Buy at
The Pirate Kings (2013)Description / Buy at
The Nearly Girl (2013)Description / Buy at
The Mayan Prophecy (2013)Description / Buy at
The Infinity Cage (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Thousand Suns (2006)Description / Buy at
October Skies (2008)Description / Buy at
The Candle Man (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Doctor Who 50th Anniversary E-Shorts Books

A Big Hand for the Doctor (By: Eoin Colfer) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Beast of Babylon (By: Charlie Higson) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Nameless City (By: Michael Scott) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Spear of Destiny (By: Marcus Sedgwick) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Roots of Evil (By: Philip Reeve) (2013)Description / Buy at
Tip of the Tongue (By: Patrick Ness) (2013)Description / Buy at
Something Borrowed: Sixth Doctor (By: Eoin Colfer,Richelle Mead) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Ripple Effect (By: Malorie Blackman) (2013)Description / Buy at
Spore (2013)Description / Buy at
The Mystery of the Haunted Cottage (By: Derek Landy) (2013)Description / Buy at
Nothing O'Clock (By: Neil Gaiman) (2013)Description / Buy at
Lights Out (By: Holly Black) (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Doctor Who: 11 Doctors, 11 Stories(2013)Description / Buy at
Doctor Who: 12 Doctors, 12 Stories(2014)Description / Buy at
Doctor Who: Thirteen Doctors, 13 Stories(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Alex Scarrow Books, You’ll Love…

Alex Scarrow Synopses: A Thousand Suns is a standalone novel by Alex Scarrow. On April 29, 1945, a clandestine unconditional surrender to Nazi Germany by the Allies was swiftly retracted just four hours later, a revelation kept hidden from the world until now.

Set in early April of 1945, as the Nazi regime faces its demise at the hands of advancing Russian and Allied forces, Hitler’s grip on power weakens within his Berlin bunker. Yet, amidst the chaos, the German high command devises a daring plan to salvage the Fatherland and fend off the impending catastrophe.

This audacious scheme entails assembling a disparate squadron of escort fighters, commandeering a captured US bomber, and enlisting a single pilot willing to embark on a suicide mission across the Atlantic to strike at the heart of America.

Fast forward fifty years, and the discovery of a rusted plane submerged with its crew off the coast of New York reveals a relic of the past. Chris Roland, a talented young photographer, is tasked with documenting this historical artifact. However, upon uncovering fragments of Nazi uniforms on the decaying bodies, Chris realizes he has stumbled upon a sinister secret so potent that even after half a century, its revelation could spell his demise.

The Candle Man by Alex Scarrow is a standalone novel. In 1912, amidst the haunting quiet of the Titanic’s dining room as the ship faces its demise, a mysterious man shares his life story with a young girl, harking back to the streets of Whitechapel in 1888.

In the shadows of a dimly lit Whitechapel alley, Mary Kelly encounters a gravely injured man and seizes his belongings in a desperate bid to survive. Meanwhile, an American gentleman awakens in a hospital with no recollection of his identity, grappling with the aftermath of a severe head injury.

As their paths intertwine, a chilling truth emerges, connecting them to the dark underbelly of Victorian London. This revelation threatens to tarnish the reputation of a powerful figure.

As the Titanic meets its tragic end in the icy depths of the Atlantic, the long-held secrets behind a series of unsolved murders in London are poised to surface. Among them: the true identity of Jack the Ripper.

TimeRiders by Alex Scarrow is the first book in the series of the same name. Maddy, Liam, and Sal have been rescued from impending doom to serve as agents for TimeRiders, an organization dedicated to preventing time travel from wreaking havoc on the world. But when a new menace emerges, with sinister origins tracing back to World War II, the TimeRiders embark on a perilous journey. They venture back to Nazi Germany and then forward into a constantly changing present, determined to fulfill their roles as guardians of time and thwart the impending threat.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alex Scarrow Books

Leave a Reply