Rhys Dylan is a Welsh author of crime fiction novels. He writes the DCI Evan Warlow series, which is also known as the Black Beacons series. The Beacons are a mountain range located in South Wales, with ancient kingdoms to the north and the west. Rhys lives on the edge of the Beacons with his wife and dog.

Rhys Dylan made his debut as a novelist in 2021 with The Engine House. Below is a list of Rhys Dylan’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Rhys Dylan releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of DCI Evan Warlow / Black Beacons Books

The Wolf Hunts Alone (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Engine House (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Caution Death at Work (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ice Cold Malice (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Suffer the Dead (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Gravely Concerned (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Mark Of Imperfection (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Burnt Echo (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Body of Water (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Lines of Inquiry (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
No One Near (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Light Remains (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Matter of Evidence (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Last Throw (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Rhys Dylan Books, You’ll Love…

Rhys Dylan Synopses: The Engine House is the first DCI Evan Warlow novel by Rhys Dylan. When a landslip on Pembrokeshire’s stunning coastal path reveals the harrowing remains of two bodies, ex-DCI Evan Warlow’s quiet retirement comes to a screeching halt.

As the original investigator for the two missing persons eight years earlier, Evan is recalled to help with what is now a murder investigation. But as the killer scrambles to cover up the truth, the body count increases.

Working with a new young team, Warlow peels away the layers to reveal the dark and rotten heart that beats beneath the chocolate box tranquillity of an area renowned for its quiet beauty.

But does he still have what it takes to dig out the horrible truth before all hell lets loose?

Caution Death at Work by Rhys Dylan is the second book in the DCI Evan Warlow series. Evan Warlow is back in the saddle as a DCI, though he isn’t quite sure he deserves to be, and he’s not the only one who has doubts.

When a brutal attack on two mountain bikers in the vast solitude of the Brechfa forest leaves one dead and the other badly injured, the hunt is on for the killer.

Ice Cold Malice is the third book in Rhys Dylan’s DCI Evan Warlow Crime Thriller series. A reeking mound of tangled kelp washes up on a beach. It isn’t the seaweed that smells. It’s the decomposing body inside it.

But this is no innocent victim. A fact that makes things difficult as DCI Warlow unearths the corpse’s sordid history. He suspects foul play… and there’s no shortage of suspects.

Suffer the Dead is book 4 in the DCI Evan Warlow series. When a farmer and his son go missing while hunting down rustlers, DCI Evan Warlow and his team are summoned to investigate. Everything points to an ugly raid by ruthless thieves, but with no bodies, and little or no clues, the team quickly start chasing their tails.

The close-knit community reels from the shock, but not everyone the team comes across is being completely honest, and it quickly transpires that, under their prim and proper facades, some have secrets they will do anything to keep.

But even Warlow isn’t prepared for the monstrous truth when, like a rabid sheepdog, it finally sits up and bites him on the leg.

He’s too busy trying not to get killed himself. Nothing bad ever happens in the countryside… right?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Rhys Dylan Books

2 Responses to “Order of Rhys Dylan Books”

  1. Edwin Blewett: 1 year ago

    I’ve been reading Rhys Dylan in order. Today I find the list shows a new (to me) one at the top of the list. When I click the amazon.ca link I get a bunch of books but not that one (whereas the other links all work correctly. More importantly, searching for this book (The Wolf Hunts Alone) on amazon.ca yields a blank. I think this must be a bug in your database. Thanks for the web site. I’m enjoying reading authors like Dylan way more reading them in order. Great site. Edwin


Leave a Reply