Alice Adams (1926-1999) was an American novelist and short story writer. Alice was born in Virginia and grew up in North Carolina. She then attended Radcliffe College in Cambridge, Massachusetts. Alice spent time in Paris, and ended up moving to San Francisco, where she spent most of her adult life.

Alice Adams made her debut as a published author in 1966 with the novel Careless Love (aka The Fall of Daisy Duke). Below is a list of Alice Adams’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Careless Love (1966)Description / Buy at
Families and Survivors (1974)Description / Buy at
Rich Rewards (1980)Description / Buy at
Superior Women (1984)Description / Buy at
Roses, Rhododendron (1987)Description / Buy at
Second Chances (1988)Description / Buy at
Almost Perfect (1993)Description / Buy at
A Southern Exposure (1995)Description / Buy at
Medicine Men (1997)Description / Buy at
After the War (2000)Description / Buy at
Listening to Billie (2011)Description / Buy at
Caroline's Daughters (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Beautiful Girl (1979)Description / Buy at
To See You Again (1982)Description / Buy at
Return Trips (1985)Description / Buy at
After You've Gone (1989)Description / Buy at
The Last Lovely City (1999)Description / Buy at
The Stories of Alice Adams (2002)Description / Buy at
Poolside (With: Julie Orringer) (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Prize Stories 1973: The O. Henry Awards(1973)Description / Buy at
Prize Stories 1974: The O'Henry Awards(1974)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories 1991(1991)Description / Buy at
Mirror, Mirror on the Wall(1998)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories of the Century(2000)Description / Buy at

Notes: Careless Love was also published as The Fall of Daisy Duke. Poolside also has stories by Amy Bloom, John Cheever, Ernest Hemingway, A.M. Homes, Andrea Lee, Joyce Carol Oates, Edna O’Brien, Julie Orringer, James Purdy, Graham Swift, John Updike, David Foster Wallace and Fay Weldon.

If You Like Alice Adams Books, You’ll Love…

Alice Adams Synopses: Families and Survivors is a standalone title by Alice Adams. From Louisa Calloway’s Southern girlhood to her debut to her first marriage, all the time surrounded by a certain tradition and all the time resisting. In lieu of her conservative, bigoted father, she chooses men who are liberal, free-spoken, Jewish. Nevertheless her first marriage is unhappy, but her second promises to be sounder, as she discovers what she really wants, can have, can become – what she really is.

Listening to Billie is a standalone novel by Alice Adams. The first glimpse of Eliza Hamilton Quarles is as a blonde boarding-school student, sitting in a sophisticated New York club, listening to Billie Holiday. She is on the brink of her marriage to her older, worldly date. Twenty years later, a mother, divorced, she, tentatively begins a new life, with new lovers, new interests, new strength, even a new, more comfortable identity.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alice Adams Books

Leave a Reply