Alice Hoffman
Alice Hoffman is an American author of fantasy, magic realism and historical fiction novels for adults, young adults and children. She got her B.A. from Adelphi University and her M.A. in creative writing from Stanford University. Hoffman wrote the screenplay for Independence Day (although not the famous one). She lives in Boston, Massachusetts with her husband.

Alice Hoffman became a published novelist in 1977 with the novel Property Of. Below is a list of Alice Hoffman’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Alice Hoffman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Practical Magic Books

Practical Magic (1995)Description / Buy at
The Rules of Magic (2017)Description / Buy at
Magic Lessons (2020)Description / Buy at
The Book of Magic (2021)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Practical Magic Books

Magic Lessons(2020)Description / Buy at
The Rules of Magic(2017)Description / Buy at
Practical Magic(1995)Description / Buy at
The Book of Magic(2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Water Tales Books

Publication Order of Green Angel Books

Publication Order of Inheritance Collection Books

Everything My Mother Taught Me (2019)Description / Buy at
Can You Feel This? (By: Julie Orringer) (2019)Description / Buy at
The Lion's Den (By: Anthony Marra) (2019)Description / Buy at
Zenith Man (By: Jennifer Haigh) (2019)Description / Buy at
The Weddings (By: Alexander Chee) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Property Of (1977)Description / Buy at
The Drowning Season (1979)Description / Buy at
Angel Landing (1980)Description / Buy at
White Horses (1982)Description / Buy at
Fortune's Daughter (1985)Description / Buy at
Illumination Night (1987)Description / Buy at
At Risk (1988)Description / Buy at
Here on Earth (1990)Description / Buy at
Seventh Heaven (1990)Description / Buy at
Turtle Moon (1992)Description / Buy at
Second Nature (1994)Description / Buy at
Local Girls (1999)Description / Buy at
The River King (2000)Description / Buy at
Blue Diary (2001)Description / Buy at
The Probable Future (2003)Description / Buy at
The Ice Queen (2005)Description / Buy at
The Foretelling (2005)Description / Buy at
Incantation (2006)Description / Buy at
Skylight Confessions (2007)Description / Buy at
The Third Angel (2008)Description / Buy at
The Story Sisters (2009)Description / Buy at
The Red Garden (2011)Description / Buy at
The Dovekeepers (2011)Description / Buy at
The Museum of Extraordinary Things (2014)Description / Buy at
Nightbird (2015)Description / Buy at
The Marriage of Opposites (2015)Description / Buy at
Faithful (2017)Description / Buy at
The World That We Knew (2019)Description / Buy at
The Invisible Hour (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Bookstore Sisters (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Blackbird House (2004)Description / Buy at
Faerie Knitting (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Plays

Publication Order of Picture Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Survival Lessons (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Ploughshares Fall 1989(1989)Description / Buy at
Scribners Best of the Fiction Workshops 1997(1997)Description / Buy at
Writers on Writing(2001)Description / Buy at
Ploughshares, Fiction Issue, Vol. 29, Nos. 2 & 3, Fall 2003(2003)Description / Buy at
Shadow Show: All-New Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury(2012)Description / Buy at
Shadow Show: Stories In Celebration of Ray Bradbury(2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Alice Hoffman Books, You’ll Love…

Alice Hoffman Synopses: In Aquamarine by Alice Hoffman, Hailey and Claire find a mermaid at the bottom of beach club pool. This is how they learn that life is unpredictable, friendship lasts the test of time and magic comes when you least expect it.

In Indigo by Alice Hoffman, young teenager Martha Glimmer is having the worst time of her life. Her mother passed, she went through a growing spurt and she has to listen to how 13 year-olds should act. Martha dreams of travelling along with her best friend Trevor and his brother Eli. Together, they want to go see the ocean and in doing so, they may find the true meaning of home where you least expect it.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alice Hoffman Books

Leave a Reply