Alice Munro
Alice Munro is a Canadian author of short stories. She is credited with revolutionizing the short story. Munro sets most of her stories in Huron County, Ontario, where she is from. She is known for exploring the complexities of people with prose that is not too rich and easy to read. Munro has won numerous awards of the course of her near-50 year career, most notably the Governor General’s Award (3x), the Giller Prize (2x), the Man Booker International Prize and the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Alice Munro became a published author in 1968 with the short story collection Dance of the Happy Shades. To date, she has only had one novel published, which was the 1971 novel Lives of Girls and Women. Below is a list of Alice Munro’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Lives of Girls and Women (1971)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Dance of the Happy Shades (1968)Description / Buy at
Something I've Been Meaning to Tell You (1974)Description / Buy at
The Beggar Maid (1977)Description / Buy at
Who Do You Think You Are? (1977)Description / Buy at
The Moons of Jupiter (1983)Description / Buy at
The Progress of Love (1985)Description / Buy at
Friend of My Youth (1990)Description / Buy at
Open Secrets (1994)Description / Buy at
Selected Stories (1996)Description / Buy at
The Love of a Good Woman (1998)Description / Buy at
Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage (2001)Description / Buy at
No Love Lost (2003)Description / Buy at
Vintage Munro (2004)Description / Buy at
Runaway (2004)Description / Buy at
Carried Away (2006)Description / Buy at
View From Castle Rock (2006)Description / Buy at
Too Much Happiness (2009)Description / Buy at
My Best Stories (2009)Description / Buy at
New Selected Stories (2011)Description / Buy at
Dear Life (2012)Description / Buy at
Lying Under the Apple Tree (2014)Description / Buy at
Family Furnishings (2014)Description / Buy at
A Wilderness Station (2015)Description / Buy at
Julieta (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Identity And Self Respect(1952)Description / Buy at
Points of View(1956)Description / Buy at
Women and Fiction(1975)Description / Buy at
Among Sisters: Short Stories by Women Writers(1989)Description / Buy at
From Ink Lake(1990)Description / Buy at
The Faber Book of Contemporary Canadian Short Stories(1990)Description / Buy at
The Minerva Book of Short Stories 3(1991)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories 1991(1991)Description / Buy at
Selected Shorts(1993)Description / Buy at
The Literary Traveller(1994)Description / Buy at
First Fiction: An Anthology of the First Published Stories by Famous Writers(1994)Description / Buy at
The Scribner Anthology of Contemporary Short Fiction(1999)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories of the Century(2000)Description / Buy at
40 Short Stories: A Portable Anthology(2000)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories 2001(2001)Description / Buy at
PEN America Issue 4: Fact/Fiction(2002)Description / Buy at
The Eloquent Short Story: An Anthology of Narrative Styles(2004)Description / Buy at
Children Playing Before a Statue of Hercules(2005)Description / Buy at
The Scotiabank Giller Prize 15 Years: An Anthology of Prize-Winning Canadian Fiction.(2008)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 2009(2009)Description / Buy at
Stories to Get You Through the Night(2010)Description / Buy at
Finding the Words(2011)Description / Buy at
Fathers: A Literary Anthology(2011)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories 2012(2012)Description / Buy at
The O. Henry Prize Stories 2013(2013)Description / Buy at
Woman: An Anthology(2014)Description / Buy at
That Glimpse of Truth(2014)Description / Buy at
Every Father's Daughter(2015)Description / Buy at
Dreams And Nightmares: At Bay Press Fiction Annual(2016)Description / Buy at
Writers: Their Lives and Works(2018)Description / Buy at
Stories for Christmas and the Festive Season(2022)Description / Buy at

Note: The Beggar Maid was also published as Who Do You Think You Are?.

If You Like Alice Munro Books, You’ll Love…

Alice Munro Synopsis: Lives of Girls and Women is the first and only novel by Canadian writer Alice Munro. After different interactions with people, Del learns her personal potential and becomes excited about her own independence.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alice Munro Books

Leave a Reply