Alison Bruce is an English author of crime fiction and suspense novels, and non-fiction books. She writes the DC Gary Goodhew series. Alison was born in Surrey, and grew up loving British crime fiction, U.S. pulp fiction, classic films and crime shows on television. She lives in Cambridge, and is married with two children.

Alison Bruce made her debut as an author in 2005 with the true crime book Cambridgeshire Murders. Subsequently, she made her debut as a novelist in 2008 with the novel Cambridge Blue. Below is a list of Alison Bruce’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Alison Bruce releases a new book at

Publication Order of DC Gary Goodhew Mystery Books

Cambridge Blue (2009)Description / Buy at
The Siren (2010)Description / Buy at
The Calling (2011)Description / Buy at
The Silence (2012)Description / Buy at
A Cry in the Night/The Backs (2013)Description / Buy at
The Promise (2015)Description / Buy at
Cambridge Black (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ronnie Blake Books

Because She Looked Away (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Deadly Season (2016)Description / Buy at
I Did It for Us (2019)Description / Buy at
The Moment Before Impact (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Cambridgeshire Murders (2005)Description / Buy at
Billington: Victorian Executioner (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bodies in the Bookshop(2014)Description / Buy at

Note: The Backs was also titled A Cry in the Night.

If You Like Alison Bruce Books, You’ll Love…

Alison Bruce Synopses: I Did It for Us is a standalone title by Alison Bruce. Cherry has negative instincts about her best friend Joanne’s new boyfriend. Cherry is worried about Joanne, and fears for Joanne’s children. But Joanne won’t listen because she’s in love. So Cherry watches, and waits… and then she makes a choice. But Cherry has a past, and secrets too. And is she really as good a friend to Joanne as she says she is?

Cambridgeshire Murders is a true crime non-fiction book by Alison Bruce. Inside the pages are the stories behind some of the most notorious murders in the history of Cambridgeshire. The cases covered here record the county’s most fascinating but least known crimes, as well as famous murders that gripped not just Cambridgeshire but the entire nation.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alison Bruce Books

Leave a Reply