Allan Mallinson is an English author best known for writing the Matthew Hervey series of books about an officer who serves in the British 6th Light Dragoons.

Mallinson was born in Yorkshire, England in 1949. He went on to study for the Anglican priesthood, but took a break in ordr to join the Army in 1969. He would serve in the King’s Own Royal Border Regiment as a Second Lieutenant and eventually made his way up to Major in 1981. He’d continue his ascendance in the military, serving as acting Colonel and Brigadier, before his final appointment as Military Attaché at the British Embassy, Rome.

Get notified when Allan Mallinson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Matthew Hervey Books

A Close Run Thing (1999)Description / Buy at
The Nizam's Daughters / Honorable Company (2000)Description / Buy at
A Regimental Affair (2001)Description / Buy at
A Call to Arms (2002)Description / Buy at
The Sabre's Edge (2003)Description / Buy at
Rumours of War (2004)Description / Buy at
An Act of Courage (2005)Description / Buy at
Company of Spears (2006)Description / Buy at
Man of War (2007)Description / Buy at
Warrior (2008)Description / Buy at
On His Majesty's Service (2011)Description / Buy at
Words of Command (2015)Description / Buy at
The Passage to India (2018)Description / Buy at
The Tigress of Mysore (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Light Dragoons (2006)Description / Buy at
The Making Of The British Army (2009)Description / Buy at
1914 (2013)Description / Buy at
Too Important for the Generals (2016)Description / Buy at
Fight to the Finish (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Great Commanders of the Modern World, 1866-Present Day(2009)Description / Buy at

If You Like Allan Mallinson Books, You’ll Love…

A Close Run Thing is the first book in the Matthew Hervey book series. The story picks up as England and her allies have been fighting an endless war against the French in an attempt to loosen Napoleon’s grip on Europe. When the book begins, Matt Hervey has rise through the ranks and made his way up to a junior command in the 6th Light Dragoons. He has plenty of ambition, but he struggles to shape his destiny. Then, amid a clash of armies, Hervey finds himself right in the middle of things when he serves as catalyst in the battle of the century near the Belgian village of Waterloo.

The latest book in the series is The Passage to India. This book takes place in 1831 and sees Hervey out of favor with the new Tory-led government in England. A friend offers him a chance to get out and head to the princely state of Corg. There is a rebellion going on as the Rajah are in revolt against the East India Company. Hervey and the 6th Light Dragoons are called in to crush the rebellion.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Allan Mallinson Books

Leave a Reply