Allen Eskens is an American author of crime thriller novels. He is a USA Today bestselling author. Allen grew up in the hills of Missouri. He has a journalism degree from the University of Minnesota and a law degree from Hamline University. After law school, he studied creative writing in the M.F.A. program at Minnesota State University-Mankato. Allen has practiced as a criminal defense attorney for 25 years in Minnesota. He lives there with his wife, Joely.

Allen Eskens made his debut as a published author in 2014 with the novel The Life We Bury. He has been the recipient of such awards as the Barry Award, Rosebud Award, and the Silver Falchion Award, and been a finalist for several others. Below is a list of Allen Eskens’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Allen Eskens releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective Max Rupert Books

The Life We Bury (2014)Description / Buy at
The Guise of Another (2015)Description / Buy at
The Heavens May Fall (2016)Description / Buy at
The Deep Dark Descending (2017)Description / Buy at
The Shadows We Hide (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lila Nash Books

The Stolen Hours (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Nothing More Dangerous (2019)Description / Buy at
Forsaken Country (2022)Description / Buy at
Saving Emma (2023)Description / Buy at
The Quiet Librarian (2025)Description / Buy at

If You Like Allen Eskens Books, You’ll Love…

Allen Eskens Synopsis: The Guise of Another is a standalone title by Allen Eskens. Who was James Putnam? Answering this may save the career of Alexander Rupert, a Minnesota detective whose life is in a downward spiral. A Medal of Valor winner, Alexander has been subpoenaed on suspicion of corruption. He’s been reassigned to the Frauds Unit, where he is shunned by his fellow detectives, and he fears his wife may be having an affair. When he comes across this case, Alexander sees an opportunity to rebuild his ruined reputation. But the case explodes into far more than he expected, putting him against assassin Drago Basta, who has been searching for “James Putnam” for years. As his life goes through a whirlwind, Alexander’s last hope may be his older brother, Max, a fellow detective who steps in to try to save his brother from the carnage his investigation has unleashed.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Allen Eskens Books

One Response to “Order of Allen Eskens Books”

  1. Visualverbs: 4 years ago

    Allen Eskens is the BEST writer of our generation. His book, ‘Nothing More Dangerous’ is the ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ of this time. He skillfully crafts worlds and draws characters like no other author. Eskens is a genius.


Leave a Reply