Alyssa Cole is an American author who writes sci-fi romance, historical romance, and thrillers. She is best known for writing The Loyal League series of Civil War era romance novels. After writing many romance novels in her career, Cole released the thriller When No One Is Watching in 2020.

Cole was the winner of the American Library Association’s RUSA Best Romance for 2018 and the RT Book Reviews Reviewer’s Choice Award Book of the Year for her novel, An Extraordinary Union. In addition to her work as an author, she has also contributed work to numerous publications including Shondaland, The Toast, and Vulture. Alyssa is married with multiple animals.

Get notified when Alyssa Cole releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Loyal League Books

An Extraordinary Union (2017)Description / Buy at
A Hope Divided (2017)Description / Buy at
An Unconditional Freedom (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Off the Grid Books

Publication Order of Reluctant Royals Books

A Princess in Theory (2018)Description / Buy at
A Duke by Default (2018)Description / Buy at
Once Ghosted, Twice Shy (2019)Description / Buy at
A Prince on Paper (2019)Description / Buy at
Can't Escape Love (2019)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Reluctant Royals Books

Once Ghosted, Twice Shy(2019)Description / Buy at
A Princess in Theory(2018)Description / Buy at
A Duke by Default(2018)Description / Buy at
A Prince on Paper(2019)Description / Buy at
Can't Escape Love(2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Runaway Royals Books

How to Catch a Queen (2020)Description / Buy at
How to Find a Princess (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Eagle's Heart (2014)Description / Buy at
The A.I. Who Loved Me (2019)Description / Buy at
When No One Is Watching (2020)Description / Buy at
One of Us Knows (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Sweet to the Taste (2014)Description / Buy at
Agnes Moor's Wild Knight (2014)Description / Buy at
Be Not Afraid (2016)Description / Buy at
Let It Shine (2016)Description / Buy at
Let Us Dream (2017)Description / Buy at
That Could Be Enough (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

For Love & Liberty (2014)Description / Buy at
Four Novellas (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Obsession Collection Books

Slot Machine Fever Dreams (By: Chris Bohjalian) (2023)Description / Buy at
The Heart of a Mother (By: Julie Clark) (2023)Description / Buy at
The Mosquito (By: B.A. Paris) (2023)Description / Buy at
People Like Them (By: Minka Kent) (2023)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Royal Ruby (By: Nita Prose) (2023)Description / Buy at
Just a Girl (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bingo Love Volume 1: Jackpot Edition(2018)Description / Buy at
Best Women's Erotica of the Year, Volume 4(2018)Description / Buy at
Marple: Twelve New Mysteries(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Alyssa Cole Books, You’ll Love…

An Extraordinary Union is the first book in The Loyal League series. The book follows Elle Burns, a former slave, who lives the freedom of Massachusetts to return to the South so that she can spy for the Union Army. Meanwhile, Malcolm McCall is working as a detective for the Pinkertons and gets the job to infiltrate a Rebel enclave in Virginia. The two undercover agents will end up working together to uncover a plot to turn the war in the Confederacy’s favor while also growing closer to each other.

Alyssa Cole wrote a thriller in 2020 called No One Is Watching. This book involved a conspiracy surrounding the gentrification of Brooklyn and what really happened to all those people who moved to the suburbs. Sydney Green is born and raised in Brooklyn and now runs a walking tour to try and hold onto the past as the area changes around her. She is joined by Theo and soon the two find that there may be much more to the neighborhood “revitalization” than they could have ever imagined.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Alyssa Cole Books

Leave a Reply