Anita Brookner
Anita Brookner (1928-2016) was an English author, best known for her Booker Prize-winning novel Hotel du Lac. Born in London in 1928, Anita Brookner received a B.A. from King’s College, University of London, and a Ph.D in the history of art from the Courtauld Institute. Brookner taught at the University of Reading from 1959 to 1964, and was a Lecturer in Art History at the Courtauld. From 1967 to 1968 she was Slade Professor at Cambridge – the first woman to hold that position.

Anita Brookner made her debut as a published novelist in 1981 with the novel A Start in Life (aka The Debut). Her final novel was Strangers, published in 2009. Below is a list of Anita Brookner’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Start in Life (1981)Description / Buy at
Providence (1982)Description / Buy at
Look at Me (1983)Description / Buy at
Hotel du Lac (1984)Description / Buy at
Family And Friends (1985)Description / Buy at
A Misalliance (1986)Description / Buy at
A Friend From England (1987)Description / Buy at
Latecomers (1988)Description / Buy at
Lewis Percy (1989)Description / Buy at
The Debut (1990)Description / Buy at
A Closed Eye (1991)Description / Buy at
Fraud (1992)Description / Buy at
Brief Lives (1992)Description / Buy at
A Family Romance (1993)Description / Buy at
Dolly (1994)Description / Buy at
A Private View (1995)Description / Buy at
Incidents in the Rue Laugier (1995)Description / Buy at
Altered States (1996)Description / Buy at
Visitors (1997)Description / Buy at
Falling Slowly (1998)Description / Buy at
Undue Influence (1999)Description / Buy at
The Bay of Angels (2001)Description / Buy at
Making Things Better / The Next Big Thing (2002)Description / Buy at
The Rules of Engagement (2003)Description / Buy at
Leaving Home (2005)Description / Buy at
Strangers (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

At the Hairdresser's (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Jacques-Louis David (1987)Description / Buy at
Soundings (1998)Description / Buy at
Romanticism and Its Discontents (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Granta 13: After the Revolution(1999)Description / Buy at

Notes: A Start in Life was also titled The Debut. A Family Romance was also published as Dolly. The Next Big Thing was also published as Making Things Better.

If You Like Anita Brookner Books, You’ll Love…

Anita Brookner Synopses: In Look at Me by Anita Brookner, a lonely art historian engulfed in her research seizes the opportunity to share in the joys and pleasures of the lives of a glittering couple, only to find her hopes of companionship and happiness shattered.

Latecomers by Anita Brookner is about a 50-year friendship of two very different German refugees brought over to England as children from Nazi Germany. Their friendship becomes a humourous yet touching model for the ways in which people deal with the tragedy of life.

In the 36-page short story At the Hairdresser’s by Anita Brookner, solitude is to be expected for Elizabeth Warner. She lives in a basement flat near Victoria and leaves the house only to go shopping and to have her hair done – until a chance encounter at the hairdresser’s brings unexpected change.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Anita Brookner Books

Leave a Reply