Anne Tyler
Anne Tyler is an American novelist and short story writer. She has been nominated for the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and has won such awards as the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize, the PEN/Faulkner Award, the Ambassador Book Award, the National Book Critics Circle Award and The Sunday Times Award for Literary Excellence. Many would classify Anne’s work as Southern fiction or modern American fiction, but Anne would rather not be classified as anything. Many of her works have been adapted to film, including The Accidental Tourist, Breathing Lessons, Saint Maybe, A Slipping-Down Life, Earthly Possessions and Back When We Were Grownups.

Anne Tyler became a published author in 1964 with the novel If Morning Ever Comes. Below is a list of Anne Tyler’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Anne Tyler releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

If Morning Ever Comes (1964)Description / Buy at
The Tin Can Tree (1965)Description / Buy at
A Slipping-Down Life (1969)Description / Buy at
The Clock Winder (1972)Description / Buy at
Celestial Navigation (1974)Description / Buy at
Searching for Caleb (1975)Description / Buy at
Earthly Possessions (1977)Description / Buy at
Morgan's Passing (1980)Description / Buy at
Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant (1982)Description / Buy at
The Accidental Tourist (1985)Description / Buy at
Breathing Lessons (1988)Description / Buy at
Saint Maybe (1991)Description / Buy at
Ladder of Years (1995)Description / Buy at
A Patchwork Planet (1998)Description / Buy at
Back When We Were Grownups (2001)Description / Buy at
The Amateur Marriage (2004)Description / Buy at
Digging to America (2006)Description / Buy at
Noah's Compass (2009)Description / Buy at
The Beginner's Goodbye (2012)Description / Buy at
A Spool of Blue Thread (2015)Description / Buy at
Clock Dance (2018)Description / Buy at
Redhead by the Side of the Road (2020)Description / Buy at
French Braid (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Half-truths and Semi-miracles (2018)Description / Buy at
Teenage Wasteland (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Tumble Tower (1993)Description / Buy at
Timothy Tugbottom Says No! (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Contemporary Literature and the Life of Faith Books

Listening for God Reader, Vol. 1 (By: Flannery O'Connor,Raymond Carver,Alice Walker,Garrison Keillor,Annie Dillard,Richard Rodríguez,Patricia Hampl,Peter Hawkins,Frederick Buechner,Paula J. Carlson,Peter S. Hawkins) (1994)Description / Buy at
Listening for God, Vol. 2 (With: John Updike,Tobias Wolff,Gail Godwin,Henry Louis Gates Jr.,Kathleen Norris,Paula J. Carlson,Peter S. Hawkins,Carol Bly,Andrew Dubus) (1996)Description / Buy at
Listening for God, Vol. 3 (By: Tillie Olsen,Wendell Berry,John Cheever,Louise Erdrich,Mary Gordon,Tess Gallagher,Reynolds Price,Oscar Hijuelos,Paula J. Carlson,Peter S. Hawkins) (2000)Description / Buy at
Listening For God, Vol. 4 (By: Robert Olen Butler,Allegra Goodman,James Baldwin,Kent Haruf,SueMiller,Doris Betts,Paula J. Carlson,Peter S. Hawkins,MichaelMalone,Alice Elliot Dark) (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Hogarth Shakespeare Books

The Gap of Time (By: Jeanette Winterson) (2015)Description / Buy at
Shylock is My Name (By: Howard Jacobson) (2016)Description / Buy at
Vinegar Girl (2016)Description / Buy at
Hag-Seed (By: Margaret Atwood) (2016)Description / Buy at
New Boy (By: Tracy Chevalier) (2017)Description / Buy at
Dunbar (By: Edward St. Aubyn) (2017)Description / Buy at
Macbeth (By: Jo Nesbø) (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Instaread Summary Books

(with Hanya Yanagihara, Sue Monk Kidd, Ian McEwan, Amor Towles, Anita Diamant, M.L. Stedman, Nadia Hashimi, Instaread Summaries)

Summary of The Pearl That Broke Its Shell (By: Nadia Hashimi,Instaread Summaries) (2016)Description / Buy at
Summary of A Little Life (By: Hanya Yanagihara,Instaread Summaries) (2016)Description / Buy at
Summary of The Children Act (By: Ian McEwan,Instaread Summaries) (2016)Description / Buy at
Summary of The Light Between Oceans (By: M.L. Stedman,Instaread Summaries) (2016)Description / Buy at
Summary of The Boston Girl (By: Anita Diamant,Instaread Summaries) (2016)Description / Buy at
Summary of The Invention of Wings (By: Sue Monk Kidd,Instaread Summaries) (2016)Description / Buy at
Summary, Analysis & Review of A Gentleman in Moscow (By: Amor Towles,Instaread Summaries) (2019)Description / Buy at
Summary of Vinegar Girl (With: Instaread Summaries) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Stories of the Modern South(1977)Description / Buy at
The Writer on Her Work(1980)Description / Buy at
A World of Fiction(1983)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories 1983(1983)Description / Buy at
New Woman, New Fiction(1990)Description / Buy at
Listening for God, Vol. 2(1996)Description / Buy at

If You Like Anne Tyler Books, You’ll Love…

Anne Tyler Synopsis: Tumble Tower is a 32-page picture book written by Anne Tyler and drawn by her daughter, Mitra Modarressi. Messy little girls are one thing, but messy little princesses need to be held to higher standards. Princess Molly’s father says that her room is a disgrace to the kingdom! In this story, Princess’ Molly’s messy room saves the royal family.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Anne Tyler Books

Leave a Reply