Ann Swinfen is an author of historical mystery and literary fiction novels. She writes the Chronicles of Christoval Alvarez series, and the Oxford Medieval Mysteries series. Ann was educated at Somerville College, Oxford, where she studied Classics and Mathematics. She would later study for her postgraduate MSc in Mathematics and a BA and PhD in English Literature, while at the same time working jobs such as university lecturer, translator, freelance journalist and software designer. Ann lives on the northeast coast of Scotland, with her husband and pets.

Ann Swinfen made her debut as a published author in 1984 with the non-fiction book In Defense of Fantasy. She published her first novel in 1996, entitled The Anniversary. Below is a list of Ann Swinfen’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Chronicles Of Christoval Alvarez Books

The Secret World of Christoval Alvarez (2014)Description / Buy at
The Enterprise of England (2014)Description / Buy at
The Portuguese Affair (2014)Description / Buy at
Bartholomew Fair (2014)Description / Buy at
Suffer the Little Children (2015)Description / Buy at
Voyage to Muscovy (2015)Description / Buy at
The Play's the Thing (2016)Description / Buy at
That Time May Cease (2016)Description / Buy at
The Lopez Affair (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Fenland Books

Publication Order of Oxford Medieval Mysteries Books

The Bookseller's Tale (2016)Description / Buy at
The Novice's Tale (2016)Description / Buy at
The Huntsman's Tale (2017)Description / Buy at
The Merchant's Tale (2017)Description / Buy at
The Troubadour's Tale (2018)Description / Buy at
The Stonemason's Tale (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Anniversary (1996)Description / Buy at
The Travellers (1997)Description / Buy at
A Running Tide (1998)Description / Buy at
Mere Incidents of War (1999)Description / Buy at
The Testament of Mariam (2009)Description / Buy at
This Rough Ocean (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Envy (2014)Description / Buy at
A Mutual Silence (2014)Description / Buy at
The Scent of Oranges (2014)Description / Buy at
The Secret of Santa Fabriata (2014)Description / Buy at
A Walk in the Woods (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

In Defence of Fantasy (1984)Description / Buy at

If You Like Ann Swinfen Books, You’ll Love…

Ann Swinfen Synopses: The Anniversary is a standalone novel by Ann Swinfen. It is June 11th 1994 in the depths of Herefordshire and Natasha Devereux’s family and two hundred guests gather together to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of St. Martin’s. From the vision of one woman who fled Bolshevik Russia and opened her doors to artists, musicians, writers, and refugees from war-torn Europe, it has become a sanctuary for generations of her family. Over the course of one day they face marital crisis, impending birth, teenage trauma, a father’s roving eye, momentous news from the past, communal financial crisis, and a lost love from the summer of 1957.

Envy is a short story by Ann Swinfen. Pierre Lamotte is a poor farmer, Raoul Legros a rich one. For years, each has kept an eye on the other across the boundaries of their land. How will envy change their lives?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ann Swinfen Books

Leave a Reply