Susanna Gregory
Susanna Gregory is the pen name of English author Elizabeth Cruwys, who writes historical mystery novels. She writes the Matthew Bartholomew and the Thomas Chaloner series. Susanna is a Cambridge academic who previously worked as a coroner’s officer. She also writes alongside Beau Riffenburgh as Simon Beaufort and is a member of the Medieval Murderers group.

Susanna Gregory made her debut as a published novelist in 1996 with the novel A Plague On Both Your Houses. Below is a list of Susanna Gregory’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Susanna Gregory releases a new book at

Publication Order of Alec Lonsdale Books

(as Simon Beaufort)

Mind of a Killer (2018)Description / Buy at
Watchers of the Dead (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Matthew Bartholomew Books

A Plague on Both Your Houses (1996)Description / Buy at
An Unholy Alliance (1996)Description / Buy at
A Bone of Contention (1997)Description / Buy at
A Deadly Brew (1998)Description / Buy at
A Wicked Deed (1999)Description / Buy at
A Masterly Murder (2000)Description / Buy at
An Order for Death (2001)Description / Buy at
A Summer of Discontent (2002)Description / Buy at
A Killer in Winter (2003)Description / Buy at
The Hand of Justice (2004)Description / Buy at
The Mark of a Murderer (2005)Description / Buy at
The Tarnished Chalice (2006)Description / Buy at
To Kill or Cure (2008)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Disciples (2008)Description / Buy at
A Vein of Deceit (2009)Description / Buy at
A Killer of Pilgrims (2010)Description / Buy at
Mystery in the Minster (2011)Description / Buy at
Murder by the Book (2012)Description / Buy at
The Lost Abbot (2013)Description / Buy at
Death of a Scholar (2014)Description / Buy at
A Poisonous Plot (2015)Description / Buy at
A Grave Concern (2016)Description / Buy at
The Habit of Murder (2017)Description / Buy at
The Sanctuary Murders (2019)Description / Buy at
The Chancellor's Secret (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Medieval Murderers Books

The Tainted Relic (2005)Description / Buy at
Sword of Shame (2006)Description / Buy at
House of Shadows (2007)Description / Buy at
The Lost Prophecies (2008)Description / Buy at
King Arthur's Bones (2009)Description / Buy at
The Sacred Stone (2010)Description / Buy at
Hill of Bones (2011)Description / Buy at
The First Murder (2012)Description / Buy at
The False Virgin (2013)Description / Buy at
The Deadliest Sin (2014)Description / Buy at
The Medieval Murderers are a group of historical fiction authors that includes Bernard Knight, Ian Morson, Michael Jecks, Karen Maitland, Susanna Gregory, Philip Gooden and CJ Sansom.

Publication Order of Sir Geoffrey Mappestone Books

(as Simon Beaufort)

Murder in the Holy City (1998)Description / Buy at
A Head for Poisoning (1999)Description / Buy at
The Bishop's Brood (With:Taschen) (2003)Description / Buy at
The King's Spies (2004)Description / Buy at
The Coiners' Quarrel (2004)Description / Buy at
Deadly Inheritance (2009)Description / Buy at
The Bloodstained Throne (2010)Description / Buy at
A Dead Man's Secret (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Thomas Chaloner Books

A Conspiracy of Violence (2006)Description / Buy at
Blood on the Strand (2007)Description / Buy at
The Butcher of Smithfield (2008)Description / Buy at
The Westminster Poisoner (2009)Description / Buy at
A Murder on London Bridge (2009)Description / Buy at
The Body in the Thames (2010)Description / Buy at
The Piccadilly Plot (2012)Description / Buy at
Death in St James's Park (2013)Description / Buy at
Murder on High Holborn (2014)Description / Buy at
The Cheapside Corpse (2015)Description / Buy at
The Chelsea Strangler (2016)Description / Buy at
The Executioner of St Paul's (2017)Description / Buy at
Intrigue in Covent Garden (2019)Description / Buy at
The Clerkenwell Affair (2020)Description / Buy at
The Pudding Lane Plot (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Murder House (As: Simon Beaufort) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Killing Ship (As: Simon Beaufort) (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Shakespearean Whodunnits(1997)Description / Buy at
The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 3(2002)Description / Buy at

Notes: Murder in the Minster was also titled Mystery in the Minster. The Sir Geoffrey Mappestone and the novels The Murder House and The Killing Ship were written with Beau Riffenburgh as Simon Beaufort.

The Medieval Murders collections are written with Philip Gooden, Michael Jecks, Bernard Knight, Karen Maitland, Ian Morson and C.J. Sansom.

If You Like Susanna Gregory Books, You’ll Love…

Susanna Gregory Synopsis: A Plague on Both Your Houses by Susan Gregory introduces the physician Matthew Bartholomew, whose unorthodox but effective treatment of his patients frequently draws accusations of heresy from his more traditional colleagues. Besides his practice, Bartholomew is teacher of Medicine at Michaelhouse, part of the fledgling University of Cambridge. In 1348, the inhabitants of Cambridge live under the shadow of a terrible pestilence that has ravaged Europe and is travelling relentlessly eastward towards England. Bartholomew, however, is distracted by the sudden and inexplicable death of the Master of Michaelhouse – a death the University authorities do not want investigated. When three more scholars die in mysterious circumstances, Bartholomew defies the University and begins his own enquiry. His pursuit for the truth leads him into a complex tangle of lies and intrigue that causes him to question the innocence of his closest friends, and even his family. And then the Black Death finally arrives and Bartholomew is dragged deeper and deeper into a quagmire which threatens not only his life, but the continued existence of the University and the future of the town.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Susanna Gregory Books

One Response to “Order of Susanna Gregory Books”

  1. Linda Lorenzo: 8 years ago

    I am on the third book of the Thomas Chaloner series and am totally hooked by this author. Gregory does not fail to impress with her wonderful descriptions of Restoration England. In a nice touch, at the end of each novel, she gives a brief recitation of the actual events and people she wove her story around.


Leave a Reply