Peter Tremayne
Peter Tremayne and Peter MacAlan are the pen names of British novelist, historian and biographer Peter Berresford Ellis. As Peter Tremayne, he currently writes historical mysteries – most notably the Sister Fidelma series. In the past, he has written horror novels, often featuring monsters, creatures and other supernatural beings. As Peter MacAlan, he wrote adventure-thrillers from 1983 until 1993. His career began as a junior reporter, then moved up to deputy editor and finally as an editor of a trade journal. He became a full-time writer in 1975. As of this writing, Peter has written around 100 books, 100 short stories, pamphlets, academic papers and columns.

Peter Tremayne became a published novelist on August 12th, 1977 with the novel Hound of Frankenstein. He would follow that up only a few months later in October, with the novel Dracula Unborn. Below is a list of Peter Tremayne’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Peter Tremayne releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sister Fidelma Books

Absolution by Murder (1994)Description / Buy at
Shroud for the Archbishop (1995)Description / Buy at
Suffer Little Children (1995)Description / Buy at
The Subtle Serpent (1996)Description / Buy at
The Spider's Web (1997)Description / Buy at
Valley of the Shadow (1998)Description / Buy at
The Monk Who Vanished (1999)Description / Buy at
Act of Mercy (1999)Description / Buy at
Our Lady Of Darkness (2000)Description / Buy at
Smoke in the Wind (2001)Description / Buy at
The Haunted Abbot (2002)Description / Buy at
Badger's Moon (2003)Description / Buy at
The Leper's Bell (2004)Description / Buy at
Master of Souls (2005)Description / Buy at
A Prayer for the Damned (2006)Description / Buy at
Dancing with Demons (2007)Description / Buy at
The Council of the Cursed (2008)Description / Buy at
The Dove of Death (2009)Description / Buy at
The Chalice of Blood (2010)Description / Buy at
Behold a Pale Horse (2011)Description / Buy at
The Seventh Trumpet (2012)Description / Buy at
Atonement of Blood (2013)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Seal (2014)Description / Buy at
The Spiteful Shadow (2015)Description / Buy at
The Second Death (2015)Description / Buy at
The Lair of the White Fox (2016)Description / Buy at
Penance of the Damned (2016)Description / Buy at
Night of the Lightbringer (2017)Description / Buy at
Bloodmoon (2018)Description / Buy at
Blood in Eden (2019)Description / Buy at
The Shapeshifter's Lair (2020)Description / Buy at
The House of Death (2021)Description / Buy at
Death of a Heretic (2022)Description / Buy at
Revenge of the Stormbringer (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sister Fidelma Collections

Hemlock at Vespers (2000)Description / Buy at
Whispers of the Dead (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dracula Lives Books

Dracula Unborn / Bloodright (1977)Description / Buy at
The Revenge of Dracula (1978)Description / Buy at
Dracula, My Love (1980)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lan-Kern Books

The Fires of Lan-Kern (1980)Description / Buy at
The Destroyers of Lan-Kern (1983)Description / Buy at
The Buccaneers of Lan-Kern (1984)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Hound of Frankenstein (1977)Description / Buy at
The Vengeance of She (1978)Description / Buy at
The Ants are Coming / The Ants (1979)Description / Buy at
The Curse of Loch Ness (1979)Description / Buy at
The Return of Raffles (1981)Description / Buy at
Zombie! (1981)Description / Buy at
The Morgow Rises! (1982)Description / Buy at
Snowbeast! (1983)Description / Buy at
Raven of Destiny (1984)Description / Buy at
Airship (By: Peter MacAlan) (1984)Description / Buy at
Kiss of the Cobra (1984)Description / Buy at
The Confession (By: Peter MacAlan) (1985)Description / Buy at
Angelus! (1985)Description / Buy at
Swamp! (1985)Description / Buy at
Kitchener's Gold (By: Peter MacAlan) (1986)Description / Buy at
Nicor! (1987)Description / Buy at
Trollnight (1987)Description / Buy at
The Valkyrie Directive (By: Peter MacAlan) (1987)Description / Buy at
Ravenmoon / Bloodmist (1988)Description / Buy at
Fireball (By: Peter MacAlan) (1991)Description / Buy at
Island of Shadows (1991)Description / Buy at
The Windsor Protocol (By: Peter MacAlan) (1993)Description / Buy at
The Doomsday Decree (By: Peter MacAlan) (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

My Lady of Hy-Brasil and Other Stories (1987)Description / Buy at
Aisling and Other Irish Tales of Terror (1992)Description / Buy at
An Ensuing Evil and Others (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Cornish Language and its Literature (By: Peter Berresford Ellis) (1974)Description / Buy at
The Un-Dead: The Legend of Bram Stoker and Dracula (With: Peter Haining) (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Irish Masters of Fantasy / The Wondersmith and Other Macabre Tales(1979)Description / Buy at
Shadows 8(1985)Description / Buy at
Halloween Horrors(1986)Description / Buy at
Gaslight & Ghosts(1988)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Vampires(1992)Description / Buy at
The Giant Book of Zombies(1993)Description / Buy at
Historical Whodunits(1993)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Zombies(1993)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Frankenstein(1994)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Wolf Men / The Mammoth Book of Werewolves(1994)Description / Buy at
Shakespearean Whodunnits(1997)Description / Buy at
The Chronicles of the Round Table(1999)Description / Buy at
Royal Whodunnits(1999)Description / Buy at
Dark Detectives(1999)Description / Buy at
Phantoms of Venice(2001)Description / Buy at
...And the Dying is Easy(2001)Description / Buy at
My Sherlock Holmes(2003)Description / Buy at
Death By Dickens(2004)Description / Buy at
Flight or Fright(2018)Description / Buy at

Notes: The novels Judas Battalion, Airship, The Confession, Kitchener’s Gold, Valkyrie Directive, Fireball, The Windsor Protocol and the non-fiction book Creeper’s Secret War were written as Peter MacAlan. Dracula Unborn was also published as Bloodright: Memoirs of Micrea Son to Dracula. Ravenmoon is also known as Bloodmist. Irish Masters of Fantasy was also titled The Wondersmith and Other Macabre Tales. The non-fiction books The Un-Dead and Creeper’s Secret War co-authored with Peter Haining.

If You Like Peter Tremayne Books, You’ll Love…

Peter Tremayne Synopses: An Ensuing Evil and Others is a short story collection of Peter Tremayne’s historical mysteries, including some featuring Sister Fidelma, others featuring Macbeth and some set in Victorian England. Each story is full of murder, mayhem and mystery, displaying Tremayne’s mix of historical detail and a baffling mystery to solve.

The Un-Dead: The Legend of Bram Stoker and Dracula is a non-fiction book by Peter Haining and Peter Tremayne. The book is a biography of Bram Stoker, the creator of the famous Dracula character.

Snowbeast! is a standalone horror novel set in Scotland. The story is about a legendary monster who re-awakens in order to maim and kill anything in its path.

In Kiss of the Cobra, while in West Bengal, Sir Keith Chase stumbles upon a crypt belonging to Monasha. This find becomes the archaeological discovery of the century. However, he was unaware that by opening it, he would unleash an ancient curse onto himself.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Peter Tremayne Books

Leave a Reply