Sister Fidelma by Peter Tremayne
Sister Fidelma is the central character in a series of historical mystery novels by British author Peter Tremayne. The series is set in 7th century Ireland. Sister Fidelma is a lawyer as well as a Celtic religieuse. She partners with Brother Eadulf (who is often compared with Dr. Watson from Sherlock Holmes). The novels are complex, full of subplots, religious conflict, personal relationships and political intrigue.

Peter Tremayne began his Sister Fidelma series in 1994 with the novel Absolution by Murder. The series is currently ongoing, at a pace of one novel per year. Below is a list of Peter Tremayne’s Sister Fidelma books in order of when they were originally released (which is also their chronological order):

Get notified when Peter Tremayne releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sister Fidelma Books

Absolution by Murder(1994)Description / Buy at
Shroud for the Archbishop(1995)Description / Buy at
Suffer Little Children(1995)Description / Buy at
The Subtle Serpent(1996)Description / Buy at
The Spider's Web(1997)Description / Buy at
Valley of the Shadow(1998)Description / Buy at
The Monk Who Vanished(1999)Description / Buy at
Act of Mercy(1999)Description / Buy at
Our Lady Of Darkness(2000)Description / Buy at
Smoke in the Wind(2001)Description / Buy at
The Haunted Abbot(2002)Description / Buy at
Badger's Moon(2003)Description / Buy at
The Leper's Bell(2004)Description / Buy at
Master of Souls(2005)Description / Buy at
A Prayer for the Damned(2006)Description / Buy at
Dancing with Demons(2007)Description / Buy at
The Council of the Cursed(2008)Description / Buy at
The Dove of Death(2009)Description / Buy at
The Chalice of Blood(2010)Description / Buy at
Behold a Pale Horse(2011)Description / Buy at
The Seventh Trumpet(2012)Description / Buy at
Atonement of Blood(2013)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Seal(2014)Description / Buy at
The Spiteful Shadow(2015)Description / Buy at
The Second Death(2015)Description / Buy at
The Lair of the White Fox(2016)Description / Buy at
Penance of the Damned(2016)Description / Buy at
Night of the Lightbringer(2017)Description / Buy at
Bloodmoon(2018)Description / Buy at
Blood in Eden(2019)Description / Buy at
The Shapeshifter's Lair(2020)Description / Buy at
The House of Death(2021)Description / Buy at
Death of a Heretic(2022)Description / Buy at
Revenge of the Stormbringer(2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sister Fidelma Collections

Hemlock at Vespers(2000)Description / Buy at
Whispers of the Dead(2004)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sister Fidelma Books, You’ll Love…

Sister Fidelma Synopsis: The short story collection Hemlock at Vespers features Sister Fidelma and takes place between Act of Mercy and Our Lady of Darkness. The stories in the collection fill in the background of Sister Fidelma and the 17th century Irish setting.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sister Fidelma Books

Leave a Reply