Sister Frevisse Medieval Mysteries by Margaret Frazer
Sister Frevisse is the main character in a series of historical mystery novels by Margaret Frazer (Gail Frazer & Mary Monica Pulver). The series is set in a convent during the 15th century in Oxfordshire. The series often has an “English village” quality to it, looking at everyday life during the time period, whereas others take place during major historical events. The series is also known as the Dame Frevisse series. Frazer’s Joliffe the Player series is a spin-off series.

Margaret Frazer began the Sister Frevisse series in 1992 with The Novice’s Tale. The final novel in the series was The Apostate’s Tale, published in 2008, but further novels were published afterwards. Below is a list of Margaret Frazer’s Dame Frevisse books in order of when they were first published (which is also their chronological order):

Publication Order of Sister Frevisse Books

(By: Margaret Frazer, Mary Monica Pulver)

The Novice's Tale(1992)Description / Buy at
The Servant's Tale(1993)Description / Buy at
The Outlaw's Tale(1994)Description / Buy at
The Bishop's Tale(1994)Description / Buy at
The Boy's Tale(1995)Description / Buy at
The Murderer's Tale(1996)Description / Buy at
The Prioress' Tale(1997)Description / Buy at
The Maiden's Tale(1998)Description / Buy at
The Reeve's Tale(1999)Description / Buy at
The Squire's Tale(2000)Description / Buy at
The Clerk's Tale(2002)Description / Buy at
The Bastard's Tale(2003)Description / Buy at
The Hunter's Tale(2004)Description / Buy at
The Widow's Tale(2005)Description / Buy at
The Sempster's Tale(2006)Description / Buy at
The Traitor's Tale(2007)Description / Buy at
The Apostate's Tale(2007)Description / Buy at
Note: The first six Sister Frevisse books were written with Mary Monica Pulver together under the "Margaret Frazer" pen name.

Publication Order of Sister Frevisse Short Stories/Novellas

The Witch's Tale(2010)Description / Buy at
The Midwife's Tale(2010)Description / Buy at
Shakespeare's Mousetrap / That Same Pit(2010)Description / Buy at
The Stone-Worker's Tale(2011)Description / Buy at
Winter Heart(2011)Description / Buy at

Note: The first six books in the series, up until The Murderer’s Tale, were co-authored with Monica Ferris.

If You Like Sister/Dame Frevisse Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Sister Frevisse Books

One Response to “Order of Sister Frevisse Books”

  1. Alison C: 3 years ago

    Thank you for this list. I hadn’t realized that Frazer wrote so many Dame Frevisse books, nor had I realized that they’re not all available on Kindle!


Leave a Reply