Anthony Doerr is an American novelist. He was raised in Cleveland, Ohio and attended University School in the area, where he graduated from in 1991. Doerr majored in history at Bowdoin College in Brunswick, Maine, where he graduated in 1995, and earned an MFA from Bowling Green State University. His novel All the Light We Cannot See won the Pulitzer Prize in 2015. Doerr lives in Boise, Idaho. He is married with twin sons.

Anthony Doerr made his debut as a published author in 2001 with the short story collection The Shell Collector. His first novel was the 2004 novel About Grace. Below is a list of Anthony Doerr’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Anthony Doerr releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

About Grace (2004)Description / Buy at
All the Light We Cannot See (2014)Description / Buy at
Cloud Cuckoo Land (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Shell Collector (2001)Description / Buy at
Memory Wall (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Four Seasons in Rome (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Fifteenth Annual Collection(2002)Description / Buy at
The Anchor Book of New American Short Stories(2004)Description / Buy at
Tin House: Winter Reading(2007)Description / Buy at
Wonder and Other Survival Skills(2012)Description / Buy at
New Stories from the Midwest: 2012(2013)Description / Buy at
Hearing Voices: The Litro Anthology of New Fiction(2015)Description / Buy at
Tales of Two Americas(2017)Description / Buy at
Pie & Whiskey(2017)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories 2019(2019)Description / Buy at
Eat Joy(2019)Description / Buy at
Fight of the Century(2020)Description / Buy at
The Best Short Stories 2021: The O. Henry Prize Winners(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Anthony Doerr Books, You’ll Love…

Anthony Doerr Synopsis: About Grace is a standalone title by Anthony Doerr. David Winkler grew up in Anchorage, Alaska, a quiet boy drawn to the volatility of weather and obsessed with snow. Sometimes he sees things before they happen – a man carrying a hatbox will be hit by a bus; Winkler will fall in love with a woman in a supermarket. When David dreams that his infant daughter will drown in a flood as he tries to save her, he comes undone. He travels thousands of miles, fleeing family, home, and the future itself, to deny the dream. On a Caribbean island, destitute, alone, and unsure if his child has survived or his wife can forgive him, David is sheltered by a couple with a daughter of their own. Ultimately it is she who will pull him back into the world, to search for the people he left behind.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Anthony Doerr Books

Leave a Reply