Ariana Franklin Diane Norman (Photo Credit: Mary Jane Russell)
Ariana Franklin is the pen name of British author Diana Norman (1933-2011), who writes historical fiction novels. She writes the Mistress of the Art of Death and Makepeace Hedley series. Ariana began her career working as a journalist and was the youngest reporter on Fleet Street. After marrying film critic Barry Norman, she discovered her journalism career didn’t mix with his work. It was because of that she became a mother in the English countryside, continuing to write whenever and whatever she could.

Ariana Franklin became a published author in 1980 with the novel Fitzempress’ Law as Diana Norman. She adopted the Ariana Franklin nom de plume in 2006 with the novel City of Shadows. The novel was nominated for a Barry Award for Best Novel. Below is a list of Ariana Franklin’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Makepeace Hedley Books

A Catch of Consequence (2002)Description / Buy at
Taking Liberties (2003)Description / Buy at
The Sparks Fly Upward (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Mistress of the Art of Death Books

Mistress of the Art of Death (2007)Description / Buy at
The Serpent's Tale / Death Maze (2008)Description / Buy at
Relics of the Dead / Grave Goods (2009)Description / Buy at
A Murderous Procession / The Assassin's Prayer (2010)Description / Buy at
Death and the Maiden (With: Samantha Norman) (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Fitzempress' Law (1980)Description / Buy at
King Of The Last Days (1981)Description / Buy at
Morning Gift (1985)Description / Buy at
Daughter of Lir (1988)Description / Buy at
The Pirate Queen (1991)Description / Buy at
The Vizard Mask (1994)Description / Buy at
Shores Of Darkness (1996)Description / Buy at
Blood Royal (1998)Description / Buy at
City of Shadows (2006)Description / Buy at
The Siege Winter (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Stately Ghosts of England (1970)Description / Buy at
Road From Singapore (1979)Description / Buy at
Terrible Beauty (1988)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Makepeace Hedley series, the non-fiction book Terrible Beauty and the standalone novels Fitzempress’ Law, King of the Last Days, The Morning Gift, Daughter of Lir, Pirate Queen, The Vizard Mask, Shores of Darkness and Blood Royal were written as Diana Norman.

The Siege Winter is co-authored by Samantha Norman. The Serpent’s Tale was also published as The Death Maze. Relics of the Dead is also known as Grave Goods. A Murderous Procession is also titled The Assassin’s Prayer.

If You Like Ariana Franklin Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ariana Franklin Books

2 Responses to “Order of Ariana Franklin Books”

  1. Teresa Maiden: 8 years ago

    Grave Goods should be added to the MotAoD series


    • Graeme: 8 years ago

      It’s already on there as Relics of the Dead. (One of those books that have multiple titles)


Leave a Reply